In and On Clouds - Inca Trail to the Macchu Picchu


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Inca Trail
February 1st 2009
Published: June 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

EN FRANCAIS PLUS BAS

MORE PHOTOS HERE

DAY 1


5:30AM
Beep Beep. Hhmmmm. Snooze.

5:39AM
Beep Beep. Hhhmmppphhh... Pfff... All right, all right. We get up in the dark to finish packing. It's cold. Karine, falsely victimizing herself, starts: "But why, oh why are we doing this to ourselves? Waking up at ungodly hours to willfully go walking in the cold and rain for four days, when we could be warm and cozy at home, watching TV with a sweetheart, just like all of our normal, and clearly saner, friends?" Me: "Shut up and move your ass. We don't have all day, we still have all South America to visit, and only a few months left!"

6:30AM
Cusco has been taken over by the Argentines. As we wait for our bus, they smoke and share hot "mate," that traditional sour herb drink the Argentines are so fond of. In my bus, it's 15 Argentines and me. In Karine's, it's an Argentine rugby team of 9 plus two girls. Argentina 1 - France 0.

11:30AM
We reach "km 82" and have lunch. Karine leaves with her group, starting the Inka trail right away. My group walks to km 88 along the train tracks and overlooking the river. We'll start the real thing tomorrow.

6:00PM
The Argentines have invited me to the circle to share the "mate". Argentina 2 - France 0.

6:30PM
The Argentine pressure is such that a "sho" instead of "yo" unexpectedly escapes my mouth. I won't be caught on this again, I hope! Argentina 3 - France 0, I have to do something!

DAY 2


6:00AM
Through the tent door, a guide hands us a cup of hot coca tea.

7:30AM
2400m above sea level. We enter the Inca trail and start walking past ruins that are being renovated. The scenery is quite beautiful, especially as we start climbing.

11:00AM
3200m above sea level. Though my brain lacks oxygen and I'm panting like an untrained marathonist, I have enough wits left to wonder why on earth I didn't take the train to go to the Macchu Picchu, just like everyone else in their right mind. Clearly, someone up there heard me, and at least it rains only when we are under the tent having lunch.

3:00PM
4215m above sea level. Breathless but happy, we open the chocolate to celebrate our victorious arrival at Dead Woman's Pass (I kid you not, this is the place's name). And we quickly put on our jackets and woolen hats: on the other side of the mountain, the temperature is about 15 degrees C lower, and a freezing wind and drizzle accompany our descent.

5:00PM
3400m above sea level. We arrive at base camp feeling like a wet and dirty wash cloth. All other groups have been here for a while, as we basically walked in one day the same distance they covered in two. Only two of us, including me, dare to brave a cold shower, only to regret it later as the shower didn't work and when it did, the water was so cold my gums hurt. Coca tea and hot soup comfort us before crashing in the tent. It is not raining, but the air is so visibly humid that everything is wet. We are in a cloud--not on a cloud.

DAY 3


5:00am
"Mate con o sin azúcar?" (coca tea with or without sugar) "Sin, por favor" (without, please). As I sip my heavily sweetened tea (oh well...), I put my cold and wet clothes back on and look at the unpromising freezing fog outside. I love trekking. No, seriously I do. Happiness is not always comfortable.

6:30AM
And another serving of positive thinking, please, as we start walking under the cold drizzle. We visit several Inca ruins, part of the trail, that used to be military outposts, rest and cult places. Porters pass us running down on the dangerously slippery and uneven steps, with mountains of stuff on their little backs.

12:30PM
We walk past the campsite we are supposed to camp at tonight. But our guides suggest we push it to the very last camp, and we'll sleep wherever, so as to avoid walking several hours in the dark the following morning to reach the entrance to the last trail leading to the Macchu Picchu.

4:00PM
2600m above sea level, or something like that. When I make it to the refuge, my legs are shaking and my knees hurting a little from all the walking down. After lunch, I wish I could take a nap. I could not sleep last night, it was too cold. But the camp is full and we cannot put up the tents. We will sleep on the floor in the common house.

10:00PM
With my group, we are sitting on the roof of the refuge, watching the starry skies above us and cracking jokes, wondering how late the party under us is going to last, since we sleep in the party room and have to wake up at 4:00AM.

10:30PM
It starts raining, so we go down, and, of course, keep the party going until 12:30AM. The refuge smells like badly-kept stables, as everyone sleeps there, everywhere on the floor, porters and backpackers alike, after three days of walking and not washing...

DAY 4


3:30AM
Everyone, wake up! I wish I were dead. But today, we see the Macchu Picchu. Today...

5:00AM
Everyone is on the starting blocks, waiting for the trail to open its doors and let us through. Many want to make it early enough to the site to be amongst the first 400 to climb up the Wayna Picchu, the famous mountain that appears in the background of every picture of the Macchu Picchu, and they literally run up and down the trail. I could not care less: I am not crazy enough to willingly climb yet a whole other mountain before lunchtime.

7:00AM
On the trail, we pass several other Inca ruins, but no one bothers to stop, we only read the signs to know the ruins' name. At one point, a guy next to me asks "And what are these ruins called?" The clouds lift just enough for me to be able to answer, goosebumps everywhere, "That would be... the Macchu Picchu". Exctatic, the Argentines and I make a little victory dance. This time, we are on a cloud indeed. I feel like crying from the emotion, but I have to move on and follow the group for the guided visit. I do not regret not going up the Wayna Picchu. Karine did, and not only could she see absolutely nothing because of the clouds, but a guy before her slipped and almost fell to his death down the side of the cliff, only just saved by a tree branch and a dubious safety team. For my part, instead of queuing for more dangerous steps and foggy views, I prefer to explore every single house, every single street, every view from the sides, on my own. I'm blown away.

12:00PM
I am cold, wet, starving, sleepy and possibly more exhausted than I have ever been in my life. But I cannot bring myself to leave already. I grab an expensive sandwich, disregarding my intestines' discontent, and keep going. Finally, I can enjoy the site slowly, sit down and take my time to just contemplate in silence, in awe, and let myself cry this time, enjoy the taste of these happy tears. Later, I remember some of Che's words we hear in the Motorcycle Diaries: "How is it possible that I feel nostalgia for a world I never knew?" After another hour, I want to climb up the Macchu Picchu mountain, facing the Wayna, but my legs won't let me, I realize with a twinge of frustration as I stumble at every other step, giving in to exhaustion.

2:30PM
I meet up with Karine and another friend from my group in Aguas Calientes, and we go soak up our sore muscles in the hot pools, beer in hand... aaaaaaaaaahhhhhh... (sigh of relief...)

8:00PM
We did it! We climbed up and down and up and down mountains, walked through the rain, cold and blisters, and, man, wasn't it the most amazing experience ever... That knot in my throat when the clouds lifted to reveal the Macchu Picchu, that same feeling I had when I caught that first glimpse of Angkor Wat: I could always come back, but you only ever see it for the first time once in your lifetime, just this once. Now it is 8:00PM, time to go sleep in a warm bed at last, little stars still blinking in our eyes.




JOUR 1


5h30
Bip. Bip. Hhmmmmm… Bouton snooze.

5h39
Bip. Bip. Hhhmmmppphhh…Pff… Ok, ok. On se lève et on plie bagage alors qu'il fait encore nuit. Il fait froid. Karine fait semblant de se prendre pour une victime "mais pourquoi, pourquoi on se fait ça à nous-mêmes ? se lever à des heures inhumaines pour aller volontairement marcher dans le froid et la pluie pendant quatre jours, alors qu'on pourrait rester bien au chaud à la maison, à regarder la télé avec un chéri, comme les copines, normales, en tous cas plus saines d'esprit ?" Moi : "Ferme-la, et bouge-toi les fesses. On n'a pas qu'ça à fout', on a encore toute l'Amérique du sud à visiter, et plus que quelques mois !"

6h30
Cusco a été envahi par les Argentins. Pendant qu'on attend le bus, ils fument et partagent du "mate" chaud, cette boisson d'herbe amère dont les Argentins sont si amateurs. Dans mon bus, 15 Argentins et moi. Dans celui de Karine, une équipe de 9 rugbymen argentins et deux filles. Argentine 1. France 0.

11h30
Nous arrivons au "km 82", on déjeune. Karine part avec son groupe, qui se lance tout de suite sur le chemin Inca. Mon groupe rejoint à pied le "km 88" sur le chemin des rails du chemin de fer qui surplombe la rivière. On entamera le sérieux demain.

18h00
Les Argentins m'ont invitée à partager le "mate". Argentine 2 France 0.

18h30
La pression des Argentins est telle qu'un "sho" au lieu de "yo" m'échappe. J'espère ne pas me faire avoir de nouveau ! Argentine 3 France 0, il faut que je fasse quelque chose !

JOUR 2


6h00l
Un guide nous passe à travers la porte de la tente une tasse de thé de coca chaud.

7h30
2 400 m d'altitude. Nous prenons le chemin Inca, on marche le long de ruines qui sont en train d'être restaurées. Le paysage est superbe, surtout quand on commence à monter.

11h00
Bien que mon cerveau manque d'oxygène et que je me trouve haletante comme un marathoniste non entraîné, il me reste assez d'esprit pour me demander vraiment pourquoi je n'ai pas pris le train pour aller au Macchu Picchu, comme tout un chacun qui serait sain d'esprit. Mais il apparaît évident que quelqu'un m'a entendue, là-haut, car au moins il ne pleut que quand nous sommes sous la tente, pour le déjeuner.

15h00
4 215 m d'altitude. A bout de souffle mais contents, on ouvre le chocolat pour fêter notre arrivée à la Dead Woman's Pass (le "Col de la Femme Morte", sans rire, c'est le nom du col). Et, très vite, nous enfilons nos vestes et nos bonnets de laine ; de l'autre côté de la montagne, la température est de 15° de moins et un vent glacial et la bruine nous accompagnent dans notre descente.

17h00
3 400 m d'altitude. On arrive au campement en nous sentant comme des loques sales et trempées. Tous les autres groupes sont déjà là depuis un moment, et, globalement, nous avons parcouru en une journée ce qu'ils ont fait en deux jours. Seuls deux de nous, dont moi, ont le courage d'essayer de prendre une douche, froide, mais juste pour le regretter ensuite car la douche ne marchait pas, et quand elle a fonctionné, l'eau était si froide que j'en avais mal aux gencives. Du thé au coca et une soupe chaude nous réconfortent avant d'aller s'effondrer dans la tente. Il ne pleut pas mais l'air est tellement humide que tout l'est. Nous nous trouvons en plein dans un nuage - pas dessus -.

JOUR3


5h00
"Mate con o sin azucar ?" (thé de coca avec ou sans sucre ?) "Sin, por favor" (sans, s'il vous plaît). Alors que je sirote mon thé abondamment sucré (bon, tant pis…) je remets mes vêtements glacés et humides et je regarde dehors : brouillard glacial qui ne promet rien de bon. J'adore le trekking. Sérieux. Le bonheur n'est pas toujours confortable.

6h30
Et encore une petite dose de pensée positive, s'il vous plaît, pour repartir dans le crachin glacial. Nous visitons plusieurs ruines Incas sur le chemin, qui ont été des postes militaires, et des lieux de repos et de culte. Des porteurs nous dépassent, qui descendent en courant sur les marches dangereusement glissantes et irrégulières, avec des montagnes de marchandises sur leurs petites épaules.

12h30
Nous passons au campement où nous sommes supposés nous arrêter pour la nuit. Mais nos guides suggèrent que nous poussions jusqu'au tout dernier campement, de manière à éviter de marcher plusieurs heures le lendemain matin dans l'obscurité pour atteindre l'entrée du chemin qui mène finalement au Macchu Picchu.

16h00
2 600 m d'altitude, ou à peu près. Quand nous arrivons au refuge, mes jambes tremblent et mes genoux commencent à être douloureux après toute cette descente. Après le déjeuner, je ferais bien une sieste. Je n'ai pas pu dormir la nuit dernière, il faisait trop froid. Mais le campement affiche complet et nous ne pouvons pas installer nos tentes. Il va nous falloir dormir par terre dans la maison commune.

22h00
Avec mon groupe, nous sommes assis sur le toit du refuge, à regarder le ciel étoilé et échanger des blagues, en attendant que la soirée qui se déroule en bas prenne fin, pour aller dormir enfin, avant d'avoir à se réveiller à 4 heures du matin.

22h30
Il commence à pleuvoir, alors on redescend et, bien sûr, nous prenons part à la soirée jusqu'à minuit et demi. Le refuge a une odeur d'étable mal entretenue, partout sur le sol, des porteurs comme des routards, qui ont marché trois jours sans pouvoir se laver…

JOUR 4


3h30
Debout, tout le monde ! Je veux mourir. Mais, aujourd'hui, je vais voir le Macchu Picchu. Aujourd'hui…

5h00
Chacun se prépare, attendant que le chemin ouvre ses portes pour nous laisser passer. Beaucoup veulent être à temps sur le site pour être dans les premiers 400 à grimper sur le Wayna Picchu, la fameuse montagne que l'on voit sur toute vue du Macchu Picchu, et ils se courent littéralement sur le chemin. Je m'en fiche royalement : je ne suis pas assez débile pour vouloir escalader encore une montagne avant l'heure du déjeuner.

7h00
Sur le chemin, nous voyons plusieurs autres ruines incas, mais personne ne prend la peine de s'y arrêter, nous regardons juste les panneaux qui indiquent leurs noms. A un moment donné, un gars qui marche à côté de moi me demande "Et elles s'appellent comment, ces ruines ?" Les nuages se lèvent juste assez pour que je puisse répondre, avec la chair de poule des pieds à la tête "Ça, c'est… le Macchu Picchu". Exaltés, les Argentins et moi exécutons une petite danse de victoire. Cette fois, nous sommes vraiment sur un nuage. J'ai envie de pleurer d'émotion, mais je dois avancer et suivre le groupe pour la visite guidée. Je ne regrette pas de ne pas avoir fait la montée jusqu'au Wayna Picchu. Karine l'a fait, non seulement elle n'a rien vu à cause des nuages, mais un type devant elle a glissé et a bien failli se tuer en tombant de la falaise, sauvé de justesse par une branche d'arbre et une équipe de sauvetage plutôt douteuse. Pour moi, plutôt que de faire la queue pour des sentiers dangereux dans un paysage de brouillard, je préfère explorer chaque maison, chaque petite rue, aller voir le paysage à partir de chaque petit coin, par moi-même. Je plane.

12h30
J'ai froid, je suis trempée, je meurs de faim, j'ai sommeil et je suis plus fatiguée que je ne l'ai jamais été. Mais je n'arrive pas à partir déjà. Je dévore un sandwich, payé cher, sans me soucier de mes intestins qui ralent, et je continue. Enfin, je peux profiter du site sans me presser, m'asseoir et prendre mon temps pour contempler en silence, impressionée, et cette fois, me laisser aller à pleurer, et goûter ces larmes de joie. Plus tard, je me suis souvenue de ces mots du Che que l'on a entendus dans les Motorcycle Diaries : "Comment est-ce possible que je ressente de la nostalgie pour un monde que je n'ai pas connu ?" Au bout d'une heure, j'ai envie d'escalader la montagne du Macchu Picchu, en face du Wayna, mais mes jambes ne me le permettront pas, je m'en rends compte avec une pointe de frustration alors que je trébuche à chaque pas, arrivée à épuisement.

14h30
Je retrouve Karine et un autre ami de mon groupe à Aguas Caliente, et nous allons plonger nos muscles endoloris dans les piscines chaudes, une bière à la main…aaaahhhhhhh (soupir de soulagement).

20h00
Voilà! On l'a fait ! on est montés et descendus, remontés et redescendus, on a marché sous la pluie, dans le froid, malgré les ampoules, et est-ce que ça n'a pas été la plus extraordinaire aventure que l'on a vécue…Ce coup au cœur quand les nuages se sont élevés pour dévoiler le Macchu Picchu, la même impression quand mes yeux se sont posés sur Angkor Wat : je pourrais toujours y revenir, mais on ne le voit une première fois qu'une fois dans votre vie, juste cette fois-là.
Maintenant il est 20 heures, l'heure d'aller dormir dans un lit chaud, enfin, avec encore des étoiles dans les yeux.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0711s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 4; ; mem: 1.1mb