Inca Trail to Machu Picchu


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Inca Trail
March 12th 2007
Published: March 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Machu Picchu in the sunMachu Picchu in the sunMachu Picchu in the sun

Taken after daybreak
Well, it's been a week since I finished the Inca Trail, so I need to apologize for not writing for awhile. I had an incredible(ly tiring) time hiking the four days and have more photos of Machu Picchu than you can imagine. We hiked about 17km each day which doesn't seem so bad, except that on day 2 we climbed up 1,000m (over 3,000ft) in 2 hours to the highest point of the trail (4,280m=over 14,000ft) and that was just the first part of the day's hike! I thankfully spent three days before the hike in Cusco (the nearest city to Machu Picchu) which is 3,600m above sea level, so I had no problems with the high altitude on the hike. Well, no dizzy headache problems, but I was still sucking wind getting up the mountains!

The 4 day hike to Machu Picchu follows the Incan route to the sacred city that the Incan royalty would've taken to get there. There are many ruins along the way that were check points and temples to control the Incans going to the city as well as some small houses/meeting points. Basically I saw a lot of Incan architecture. But traveling through these
Machu Picchu in the fogMachu Picchu in the fogMachu Picchu in the fog

This is right before the sun began to shine over the mountains, around 6am
ruins, following the ancient trail, and seeing Machu Picchu for the first time exactly from the same place as the Incan royalty would've was breathtaking. Other visitors come by bus and are below the city, where as the Inca trail brings you from above, from the mountains surrounding it. My group opted to finish the hike in 3 days (the 4th day is usually finished in the wee hours of the morning, arriving at the city for sunrise) which allowed us to see the sunset over Machu Picchu, and then return the following morning before anyone else arrived to see the sunrise. I can't desrcibe what I saw, so you are just going to have to look at my pictures. Just know that after three days of strenuous hiking, my friends and I were still so excited and pumped to be there, that we decided to hike to the top of Wañapicchu, the tallest hump-like mountain behind the city itself. The views from the temple atop Wañapicchu were definately worth the almost-vertical 45 minute climb. What I want to know is what the Incans were thinking in the first place, building temples that difficult to reach!

I met some
Dead Woman's PassDead Woman's PassDead Woman's Pass

This is from the top of the pass, over 14,000 ft up! We hiked all the way from the valley below.
great people on the trail, and had an amazing time not only hiking, but in Cusco as well (it's a bit of a party city.) Now I am back in Miraflores, Lima for a few days before heading to Iquitos, a city at the start of the Amazon River. I'll keep you posted on my jungle discoveries!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Temple of the SunTemple of the Sun
Temple of the Sun

This is the Temple of the Sun at Machu Picchu, the first place the sun hits in the morning.
Incan stairsIncan stairs
Incan stairs

This is a typical Incan staircase, of which I climbed many!
Cusco's central plazaCusco's central plaza
Cusco's central plaza

This is a view of Plaza de Armas from the terrace in my hostel.
My Friend My Friend
My Friend

I made friends with this little kitten at the hostel.


13th March 2007

Wow
Hey, Hon, your travel site is great, I really get a chance to see and read what you are experiencing. fuf
13th March 2007

Hiking
This sounds wonderful!!! You continue to be in our prayers!
16th March 2007

Purr
What awesome pics. And purr to the kitten how adorable. I can't wait to see the rest of the pictures!!!

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0463s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb