My New Friends


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco
April 17th 2006
Published: July 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

17 Abril - Cusco
It is Monday night and I am in my room suffering from what might be a sinus infection. I am much better now than I was yesterday. I knew I would get sick, because I went out two nights in a row and didn't give myself enough time to sleep. Plus these bars are filled with cigarette smoke. And, I think I injured my vocal chords singing while dancing and having a great time. That'll teach me, right?
My excuse is that I am looking for interaction. I have been feeling lonely lately, needing to fill a gap left by Stacy and by leaving my friends and family to travel. Luckily, travelers from around the world feel the same pangs and it is easy to make new friends. You have to get used to another sad fact of traveling though, those new friends are just as transient as you and sooner rather than later, they are going to leave.
One such friend is Jessica, a Scottish traveler whom I met a week ago and had an immediate connection with. If feel we have been friends for a very long time. I want to be talking to her and just being with her all the time. What makes our connection even stronger is an absence of sexual tension. She has a boyfriend, here nonetheless. I loathe guys and women who hit on others' men and women. It is such a crumby thing to do. And I believe it will come back to you much worse than what it was worth. So, I am abiding by my self-imposed rule not to hit on another man's girl and feel blessed to have her as a friend.
It is still very soon since Stacy left and I still think about her. Indeed, she has started sending me letters just in the last couple of days and I know I have much to confront with her and in myself. I also wonder if I will be better off, happier, more successful in my work, if I am without a wife. I wonder if I will find a woman who will follow me wherever my career, my destiny, takes me. It took me here, that I am sure of.
I am supposed to be here, in Peru. I do not know why, or what I am supposed to do here, but I know I belong here at this moment. I know that it was my destiny to find Jessica, why, I know not, but upon talking to her, our paths have been pushed together for some reason. I feel the same with Hugo, my house brother. I think that maybe he is here to help me. I have had a similar connection with him that I had with Jessica, and I feel that, with the two of them, I could be happy. I think we will remain friends for a very long time.

Advertisement



31st July 2006

On 'fate'
I do believe that people are brought together for a reason...who can explain why we met at wonderful DCCC soooo many years ago and became fast friends??? :)
27th September 2006

I am a big believer in fate. The families and patients that I have encountered in my profession and my everyday life leave me with no question about it!!!! Plus where would Jason be without me!!!!!

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0631s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb