Into Thin Air


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco
June 29th 2011
Published: June 30th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Inca Junk FoodInca Junk FoodInca Junk Food

How could I NOT??
“Travel is glamorous only in retrospect.” – Paul Theroux

Six hour layover in Lima. The thing about it is that the airport doesn't close and there were tons of people waiting for flights at3, 4, 5 in the morning. All businesses were open too. People hanging out at Starbucks checking their email. Food court full of people drinking beer, ordering food, playing cards and sleeping. I could think of no better place to have such a long layover.

I have been hearing a lot about altitude sickness. I wonder if it happens right away or what. So far, I feel OK. I am running on very little sleep right now.

Ninos Hotel is very nice and friendly. I was given coca tea upon arrival (7:00 a.m.). The people in Cusco are very friendly too.

After a delicious breakfast of eggs, homemade bread, fresh fruit, and yogur with muesli (it was a lot!) I decided to take it easy today and took a walk to the Plaza de Armas. This is the center of town. It is full of activity. Not to mention all the people who want to sell you massages, tours, sunglasses etc. Photo ops were
100 years!100 years!100 years!

Since Hiram Bingham discovered the ancient city.
everywhere and I took advantage.

The sun is very intense here too. I don't know if it is cold or hot and I got sunburned! I had to buy some sunscreen. This is new. After a while I began to wear down and felt it was time to return to take a nap. I also set up an appointment to tour the Ninos Project. I am curious to see what they do for these street children. This will happen at 5:00 today.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Ninos Hotel roomNinos Hotel room
Ninos Hotel room

Clean and simple
Ninos Hotel CourtyardNinos Hotel Courtyard
Ninos Hotel Courtyard

Very cozy. I am typing this blog here.


30th June 2011
Viva El Peru!

Love this!
Keep the updates coming, Walter - I appreciate traveling vicariously!
30th June 2011
Viva El Peru!

Wow!
I'm really jealous. Keep safe. :D
30th June 2011
Viva El Peru!

Wow!
I'm really jealous. Keep safe. :D
30th June 2011

coca tea
Coca tea should help with any altitude problems! So how were the chips?
2nd July 2011

They were Banana Chips. Good.
2nd July 2011

Thanks for commenting.
2nd July 2011

Thanks for commenting.

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0499s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb