Getting ready for the trek


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco
April 27th 2006
Published: April 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Jen and Inca near the 12 angled StoneJen and Inca near the 12 angled StoneJen and Inca near the 12 angled Stone

This is a street near the main square of Cuzco that is lined with Inca walls _ all that survived earthquakes, while the Spanish walls tumbled. This one is 12 angled because ancient Cuzco was arranged into 12 neighborhoods.
My last hours in Cuzco before I head out to the highland hills of the Andes. Tomorrow - the Inca Trail!

Yes, I start my next adventure here tomorrow at the crack of dawn - I am getting picked up at the school at about 4:30 AM by the tour operators. Yikes! I´m sure walking the paths in the Andes will wake me up though. We will have two difficult days of hiking up to 13,000 feet, and then two days of knee breaking downhill on the way to Macchu Picchu. I am feeling much much better, although walking up the stairs still leaves me out of breath. I caved in and got a porter to carry my things because all the others in my group chose this option, it helps provide work to local porters, and I want to enjoy myself! I have been above 13,000 feet on Rainer, but I remember how I struggled in the thin air up there, barely taking time to enjoy the view. Of course, this will be nothing like that trip! It will be quite plush, with lots of food provided.

I met our guide last night, along with the 8 or so others in my group, and he is wonderful! He speaks excellent english, and is very capable and enthusiastic, and I am sure we are in good hands. He tells us he will stop us and give us many stories about the Incas, so much so that we won´t like it at first, but when we are tired, we will love the break. I think I´ll like it all!

I think I am ready to leave Cuzco. It has been an easy city to be in, as I am able to walk the streets, walk around even at night, and the sights and sounds are stimulating and exciting, and I have had some very good food! There is alot to do here, and it is very pretty.

But... it is tiring. All the adorable kids waving hand puppets constantly as I pass by, people pestering me with endless to buy postcards, dolls, paintings, everything.

So, I will finish hiking on Tuesday, stay overnight near Machu Picchu Tuesday night (sleeping! I´m sure! .. And maybe I can finally finally have a beer! Wuhuu!) Then back into Cuzco Thursday afternoon.

Until then, chau chau.
Jenny

PS love
Horseriding the AndesHorseriding the AndesHorseriding the Andes

I snapped a quick picture, as I was hanging on to my horse for dear life, of the people in my group ahead of me. Beautiful scenery.
to hear from you. Hope all is well over there.

(Congratulations Sam on your HOMERUN!!!!!!)



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Storm brewing above the Plaza, Andes behind.Storm brewing above the Plaza, Andes behind.
Storm brewing above the Plaza, Andes behind.

It did rain the other day but only briefly.


29th April 2006

Wow!
Your pictures are amazing! It looks like you are having a wonderful time. Peru looks like a better vacation destination than a work destination. I am jealous.
29th April 2006

How is the weather? It looks sunny and warm. It's still cold here in Alaska. The crocus and garlic shoots are just up out of the ground but they are not growing any farther yet. It's too frosty in the morning. Take care at the high altitudes! Sally and Randy
29th April 2006

Good luck!
Looks like you're having a fantastic time! It sure is lush and beautiful there. Juliet says "I love you and I really really really miss you." Violet says "I really miss you." Juliet also wants me to tell you that she is a rock star.
16th May 2006

Yay
I figured out how to get the story here and will show it to grandma on thursday, what a fabulous trip! and the pictures are like national geographic! What a fun thing to share this, wish you more travels in your future, love cathy

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb