arrived and having a great time!


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco
January 7th 2006
Published: January 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

It turns out that coming back to Cusco is almost better than arriving for the first time! That's my opinion at least. Since I know the city, Mike and I haven't had to spend the frustrating time trying to figure out where stuff is, fighting over what direction we should walk in and whatnot. And my friend Cormac met us at the airport, which was awesome, and everything so far has been great.

The only funny adapting thing is the altitude... I swear it didn't really affect me last time, but then, last time I didn't really know anyone in town and didn't walk around for hours on the first day and drink a few beers, etc, so really it could be altitude or exhaustion. We've already been to my two favorite pubs, the Cross Keys and Paddy Flaherty's, and are meeting some folk tonight at Marengo's for pizza. Hmmm... this may not be the peruvian cultural experience extraordinaire, irish and english bars along with pizza, but we're having a wicked time.

One of my favorite parts of right now is watching Mike see all these things for the first time. It's so cool... I love seeing it again, but he's only ever heard me talk about it. For those who haven't seen Cusco, trust me, the pictures don't do it justice, you just have to be here and become overwhelmed with every amazing thing around each corner. Love at first sight... and second and third, etc.

So things are awesome! We haven't taken many photos yet, because we need to get some batteries. We're checking out a place today so we'll hopefully have a permanent location soon... then we'll find out about phones/internet and whatnot and you'll be able to get ahold of us.

Email or respond and keep in touch, everyone!
love Christy

Advertisement



7th January 2006

Thanks
Christy and Mike, thanks so much for the info. Keep them coming, love to hear where you are.
9th January 2006

Agreement
I totally agree! (some might not) but don't you think you should treat Mike to a 3 sol supper? That oughta make him a blood brother of all Peruvians.
9th January 2006

Your trip
Glad to hear that you are allsettled and enjoying Cusco. Your Mom tells us that you have found a very nice place to stay and at a reasonable cost. Hope you enjoy the teaching and that Mike has success with his paintings. Love from us.

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb