This one is for Jorge!


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco
August 21st 2007
Published: August 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

I did it...last night I tried cuy (guinea pig). I finally found another person (leave it to an Aussie to conquer the dish with me) willing to give the treasured delicacy a try (the locals love guinea pig). First the presentation. The pictures speak for themselves, but words really cannot describe one´s thoughts when the plate arrives. Jorge (the name I gave my cuy) came wearing a tomato hat, mounted on a pastry. Jorge had one really large tooth and may have had a patch around his eye, because one eye looked like a ´black-eye.´ Based on Jorge´s expression, I am not sure if he passed peacefully. Therefore, I dedicate this entry in honor of Jorge. And as for the taste, well it was like dark-meat chicken. I wonder if rat tastes like guinea pig (sorry random thought). The meat was difficult to get at, and there was little of it. Tom, the other brave soul, actually quite enjoyed the cuy and devoured the dish. I was unable to finish mine, so I got it to go, in a doggie bag - Only in Peru can you walk around with a guinea pig to go! Thanks Jorge for the memories!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Jorge Jorge
Jorge

Up Close and Personal
Tom with Jorge´s BrotherTom with Jorge´s Brother
Tom with Jorge´s Brother

Can you see the resemblence between Jorge and his brother?
Calca FestivalCalca Festival
Calca Festival

Went to a local dance festival in Calca, in the Sacred Valley. This is one of the traditional costumes.
Calca FestivalCalca Festival
Calca Festival

Another traditional costume worn at the dance festival.


21st August 2007

Snack day?
Don't even think about bringing cuy on your snack day!
21st August 2007

The pictures of Jorge make chicken heads floating in soup and glassy eyed fish seem like bland table fare. You're an inspiration to us all.
21st August 2007

Stay away from my guinea pigs.
It's tough to eat something when its still got a head on it, isn't it? I think that I will just keep my guinea pigs as pets and not eat them! Can't wait to hear all your stories when you return. Andi
22nd August 2007

OMG
I can't believe you did it..I know folks who have there and couldn't do it..but alas KAren I am impressed..I heard Jennifer, while in Chins last week ate scorpion??You go girl!!! De
22nd August 2007

And "Jorge" means what...in English?
Karen, Now, when I showed "Jorge" to Angela, or should I say the picture of "Jorge" in all his culinary glory, to Angela, she ran out of the room yelling "NO! NO! NO!..." Angela isn't ethnocentric, she just might have seen "Jorge" and remembered that it means "George" in English, or at least we're pretty sure it means that. We are sure that your naming has absolutely no political content whatsoever. We'll talk when you get home. When are you headed back? We were all happy to hear that you suffered no problems with the earthquake...the devastation to the coast was horrible. Please keep in touch and enjoy the rest of your adventure. T.C. and Angela aka NO! NO!
22nd August 2007

Cuy on a stick
I could never bring myself to eat it from the roadside vendors, on a stick. I ate my only sample at a nice little hideaway restaurant in Huancayo, behind the church. I had it headless, in pieces and covered in a sauce so I could not see what it really was. And you're right - not much meat for your efforts. Glad you are well. Please send more news about the quake and pix of whatever you can. Ely's school program was the victim of some looting. She had to leave Presli's side in Oroya on Friday because Nilton kept calling her to come home. Vandals stole some desks and other supplies. Ely was torn. She has already had to close two of the schools and leave Presli by himself for the weekend. She just wants to be in every place at once, you know? Pray for them and all of Peru. This disaster will have long-reaching effects that will last for decades, like the tsunami in the Indian Ocean a few years ago. On a lighter note, Presli's first surgery was a success and our benefit concert and compilation CD release are both due to happen on September 1. Think you can make it to Hawaii for the show? Lisa
22nd August 2007

Cuy surprise
Ok OK I will finally profess I liked the chinese shrimp (shell and all) and would have even eaten scorpins and raw ocatapus legs instead of guinea pigs.. maybe if the meat was just mixed in with something else and not the display it would be easier but ummm no I think not. Very courageous of you. theres one to mark the calender with and I will also copy your pic and have it enlarged and put it on my wall in my class room for students to know this is what they will have to eat if they fail my classes. LOL.

Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0227s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb