I´m speaking like a... like a gringo who has been speaking a lot of Spanish


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco
July 20th 2007
Published: August 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

More pictures...


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

My Spanish Tutor and MeMy Spanish Tutor and Me
My Spanish Tutor and Me

I have been taking intensive Spanish classes with Dany this week. My Spanish, especially my listening comprehension, has improved greatly.
My First Visit to the Aldea InfantilMy First Visit to the Aldea Infantil
My First Visit to the Aldea Infantil

On Thursday, I visited the orphanage where I´ll be working. This is a picture of me with Shirley, one of the girls living at the orphanage. Shirley virtually leapt into my arms when I sat down.
Marina and MeMarina and Me
Marina and Me

Marina is a former volunteer at the Aldea and the one who initiated English lessons for both children and adults last May. She also wrote the curriculum.
At the AldeaAt the Aldea
At the Aldea

This is a picture of another one of the volunteer staff at the Aldea. The two boys will be in one of my English classes. Apparently, the boys come in contact with very few men at the Aldea, so I will be not only a teacher, but also a mentor who can answer their most urgent questions about... girls.
Rosa Luz y CeliaRosa Luz y Celia
Rosa Luz y Celia

At the Aldea, the orphanage is divided into houses, each of which has a house mother. There is one house mother for every eight or nine children. The idea is to create a more family-like atmosphere for the children. One of my jobs at the Aldea will be to help the mothers in whatever way I may. The job of house mother is one of the most demanding I have ever seen. The mothers are there 24 hours-a-day, 6 days of the week. They are permitted one day per week to see their own families. Often, the older girls in the house act as surrogate mothers to the youngest children.
Fiesta de cumpleaños para CarlosFiesta de cumpleaños para Carlos
Fiesta de cumpleaños para Carlos

On the afternoon I first visited, they were holding a first-birthday party for Carlos. Apparently, parties are not unusual at the Aldea. I was told they can happen as often as two or three times a week. I guess they´re trying to make the children feel special and loved.
Amigas a la fiesta de cumpleañosAmigas a la fiesta de cumpleaños
Amigas a la fiesta de cumpleaños

Shirley and her friend at the birthday party.


Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb