Getting Ruined in Cusco


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco
May 10th 2007
Published: May 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We arrive at what I assume to be the highlight of our trip- Cusco. Complete with lightheadedness, dizzy spells and funny stars, not the mention the continual breathless state-I feel like im 30 stone trying to climb the stairs, how I love the effects of altitude. Lets not mention the fact you feel totally pissed after 2 beers! Cleverly we do all the cultural stuff before sampling the night life, good move we later learn.

Sacsaywhman: (or the mnemonic "Sexy Woman") Immaculate stonework using huge boulders outlining a Puma´s head on the edge of the city, dont quite see it but impressive all the same. Esp as some of the stones weighed 30tonnes each and the Incas had some how got them on top of a v. large hill, I couldnt even get myself up the bloody hill! We gain far too much amusement from labelling a self righteous, British, SAGA style archaeology group charcters from Cluedo, "It was Mr Grey at the Inca ruin with the Inca stone," maybe the height (3350 mtrs above sea level) makes you slightly hysterical as well?

Machu Picchu: Beautiful, mystical and awe inspiring at dawn and we walk straight past it! This is as at 6am the clouds are low and you cant see anything for the fog! But sitting on a stone, a little fed up by this point, the fog clears infront of me and for the 1st time in my life I can honestly say I cant believe my eyes, the sheer scale alone is unbelieveable. It is something I am not going to waste my time trying to describe here, you´ve all seen the pictures- all i´m going to say is that it´s better.

We hike to the top of WaynuPicchu, the mountain in the backdrop of the famous Machu Picchu photos, hummingbirds flying overhead. For me this is the highlight, awash with butterflies, crystal clear day, the views are amazing and we bump straight into our friend Sam from Huacachina. Hilarity ensues when Nick´s camera decides that today is the day to die, yes at Machu Picchu, something you would not joke about! So he has to have half and hour alone time. Ha.

Ollataytambo and Pisac ruins follow but its not quite the same, im all ruied out and cant be arsed, so I get a bit stroppy as in flip flops not hiking boots and im in no mood to, 'just check whats around the next corner.' What does lift my mood tho is walking around the next corner to see Nick posing in a local families photo- what? Then they grab myself and George to argue about who has their photos with us 1st! Quite nice change to be the tourist attraction.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0311s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb