I made it!


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco » Cusco
April 20th 2009
Published: April 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

I finally made it after 48 long hours of traveling (20 spent in the miami airport 😞). I arrived early yesterday morning to Cusco and was taken to my homestay. While I am in the volunteer program I will be living with Americo and his wife (who I have yet to meet or see..) and three other volunteers. The house is really nice, two stories with a kitchen, two tv areas (some of the chanels in english), and a private bathroom for the volunteers. Americo also prepares our meals each day and so far they have been pretty good. I have only met two of the volunteers since one is doing some traveling.

Lou is 23 and from TN, he is here doing a teaching program and then a little traveling. And Jessica is from Oregon and is also doing the teaching program. They are both really friendly and know a lot of people from the program so they have introduced me to a couple of their friends and last night we all went to a bar for a drink. It is nice to have some people who know their way around and know good places to go. Unfortunaly they are both leaving in a week or two since their program is finished.

Yesterday I mostly slept, but today was orientation with Maximo Nivel and spanish lessons, which are going to come in handy. Americo speaks broken english and with my terrible spanish it is kinda hard to communicate. Luckily Jessica is pretty much fluent. After orientation I went around the city for a couple hours with a couple of the other volunteers. We went to a some of the little markets and to the Plaza de Armes, which is really beautiful. I need to do some more explaoring, there are tons of shops and restaurants on every street.

Tonight I am meeting some of the volunteers for Trivia night at one of the restaurants and tomorrow is my first day in the clinic!

Ill try and put up some pictures soon!

Advertisement



21st April 2009

:)
Omg katy sounds like you are going to have a great experience! I miss you tons already and cant wait to hear some dirt...hehe keep me posted miss you mucho! muah!
21st April 2009

Glad you made it!
Hey good to hear you finally made it, sounded like you started your adventure before you even left the states. We need pictures! (when uploading you might need to copy the picture to paint and save it so its smaller size), whats the weather like? and what is the address there (i need something to entertain me at work). Ok have fun.
28th April 2009

Wish I was there
KT that sounds so great! What is happening now? I can not wait to see pics and hear all about it. Have a great time and keep a journal - it will help you remember the little things and the funny things. Love you
28th April 2009

Lucky Kate
Glad you made it Katy, now just be sure you make it back here. Hope you have a wonderful experience and learn much. We love you so much! Gram and Pop xxoo

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb