Wandering like the fool I am


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco » Cusco
June 14th 2008
Published: August 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Iglesia de la Compania de JesusIglesia de la Compania de JesusIglesia de la Compania de Jesus

A Jesuit cathedral built on top of the Incan Temple of the Serpent. Some parts of the Serpent Temple are still below underground.
It was cold. I needed something to keep my noggin warm. I heard that alpaca was one of the finest wools in the world.

“…es alpaca.” She said.
“Cuando es?”
“Treinta soleis.” She replied.
I took the hat and held it up to the sun like I knew what I was doing, squint my eyes as if to scrutinize the fibers.
“No. Es synthetico.” I said jokingly.
“Es alpaca.” She replied firmly.
I put my nose to the hat and breathed in. I had saw someone else do the same several days ago. Monkey see, monkey do, right?
“Eh... Es alpaca con synthetico. Veinte Soleis.” I offered.
She nodded, so I paid her and walked out with a new hat.

To this day I have no idea what my cap is made of.

…..

“So, do you have a girlfriend?” The driver asks.
“No.” I replied.
“Really you should find a girlfriend while you are here. Guess how many girlfriends I have.”
“How many? Two?”
“No, five!” He said with great pride.
“Five?” I laughed. “You must have a hard time keeping them secret from one and another.”
“No, they know that we are not serious. I am married.”
“Married huh?”
“Yes, I love my wife too.”

I love talking to cab drivers.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

City of CuzcoCity of Cuzco
City of Cuzco

From a hill.
SaqsaywamanSaqsaywaman
Saqsaywaman

Can´t pronounce the name of this place? No problem. Just tell the cab driver to take you to "sexy woman" and this is were you end up.


Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0272s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb