Living without a blowdrier... harder than it seems


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco » Cusco
July 13th 2008
Published: July 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone,
Sorry- it looks like the pictures that I tried to upload last time didn't work. I'm going to reupload them this time.

So, I was offered a great job through the institute in Costa Rica! I am going to be the Academic Coordinator for the San Jose Maximo Nivel. The pay is significantly higher than a teacher (still crap for the US... but i'll be able to live pretty well there.) I'm so excited about it because not only will I be able to do administrative work with a decent title and resume builder, but I will be teaching 3-4 classes as well. The hours are pretty intense.. but I think it will all be worth it. I bought a plane ticket and they funded $250 of my flight which was pretty helpful due to the fact that the flight was REALLY expensive.

Let me see... i'm doing my laundry right now and we don't have a drier so I have the line dry them.. which is kind of cool but kind of a pain in the ass all at the same time. I don't think anyone in Peru has a drier though.. we are pretty lucky just to have a washer.
Living without a blowdrier or hair straightener is hell. Sounds so petty.. but it's hell. I just bought a straightener on Ebay and shipped it to Salo's house in Costa Rica. I was afraid that if I had it shipped here that it would take months and I would be gone by the time I needed to get it. My roommates mother shipped him a credit card and it didnt get to him until 2 months later.. soo i figured that a hair straighten would take longer. Who knows? Maybe CR is better with their postal service.. doubtful but maybe. Then I guess maybe I can get a blow drier in CR.

Tomorrow a few of us from TEFL are going to paint a community center in a local rural village. The village is called Umasbamba and it's like.. 30 minutes north of Cusco.. i'll be sure to take lots of photos.

Enjoy the photos! Miss all of you and wish you could all be here with me. xoxox

Christine




Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

CUYCUY
CUY

we ate these!!!
indigenous womenindigenous women
indigenous women

they specialize in weaving and this is what they were doing for the day


Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0334s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb