My First Week in Cusco


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco » Cusco
July 7th 2008
Published: July 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone!
Sorry for not writing in a while. things have just been really crazy here.. but a good kind of crazy!
My first week of classes went really well... my teacher is a really funny guy. Very relatable. There is a lot of work actually. I will be doing my first mini lesson tomorrow morning. It's only about 20 minutes long but it's sort of nerve racking because it's really going to be the first time that I will actually have to teach the students something. My lesson is on meals of the day in the United States. What they have for meals in Peru is pretty different. They have like a piece of bread and some juice, maybe some fruit, for breakfast and then lunch is their huge meal. It's basically like our dinner. Then at dinner time they tend to have something light, maybe just a dessert actually.

All of the people that I have met are really awesome as well. All of the TEFL students went out for the fourth of july and that was so much fun. We ended up going to like 3 bars and drinking a little too much.. but all in all it was good! Some of us are actually going to Lake Titicaca next weekend. The elevation is actually higher than Cusco (if you can believe it... Cusco is over 3,000 feet) and it's suppose to be pretty cold but really really beautiful. Then the next weekend we might go to the sacred valley, and the weekend after that it's time for Machupiccu!

My roommate's grandmother got sick and she had to go back to the United States. I had the option to live by myself or to have another roommate named Adam.. so I decided that would be the best idea since I really didn't want to live alone. My new apt is much better equipt than my last one though. We have 2 TV's, a DVD player, washing machine, pots and pans, silverware (everything that my last apt did not have). Although I have yet to do laundry.. I did hand wash some socks though. That was a good time.

Ok i'm going to put some pictures up and try to keep everyone better updated on my whereabouts!

Love you all,
Christine





Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

inca ruinsinca ruins
inca ruins

build on by the Spanish
gay pride?gay pride?
gay pride?

I think not! That's the flag of the incas
El MolinoEl Molino
El Molino

market... you can literally buy ANYTHING here
protestprotest
protest

.. something about water? Not really sure
MichelleMichelle
Michelle

she likes the alpaca sweaters
near my salsa studionear my salsa studio
near my salsa studio

bad picture but you get the point


Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb