Hi from Los Cachorros


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ayacucho
March 22nd 2006
Published: March 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi everybody-

I know it has been a while since I made an entry. Unfortunately, last week I was quite ill, with what everybody here called "el grippe". One day I felt so awful, I never even got out of bed!! Mostly it was a really bad head cold and chest congestion. I could hardly breathe. A couple of folks here brought me medicine from the farmacia, but mostly it just made me want to sleep. But anyway, though I am still coughing and stuffed up, I am on my feet again!!

I really haven't been anywhere or done anything interesting, except my usual daily hunt for something to eat. I am getting really good at doing laundry in a big tub with a washboard- I have lowered my standards quite a bit as to what constitutes "clean" and "dirty". I have discovered I can live with that, and that there are lots of things I can live without.

I decided I would try some baking, and it was quite an experience trying to find ingredients. Simple things like butter, baking powder and baking soda involved an all day hunt! When I was trying to buy flour, I was told there are 2 kinds, "prepared", and "unprepared", but no one could tell me what the difference was! So I opted for prepared flour- after all who wants unprepared flour? When I was trying to find baking powder, I finally settled on "polvo para hornear" which I think translates to powder for the oven.. .. your guess is as good as mine! I went to 3 stores for baking soda, and finally found 1 little tiny box in the back of a tiny little store! I guess baking isn't big here. I had to go to the store where I buy fresh milk to get butter- most people here don't even know what butter is!!

Today one of my students is coming over with her mother to learn to bake pizza. I made pizza sauce this morning. Buying spices is another challenge, because there are vendors at the market with all kinds of packets of dried spices and fresh ones too, but I can't figure out what the Spanish translation for things like oregeno or cinnamon is. If it's not in my dictionary, I'm lost. Just a couple of days ago, I found the word for cinnamon in my Peruvian cookbook, so the next time I go to the big market, I'll know what to ask for!! I was so excited- I really thought cinnamon didn't exist here, and it is one of my favorite things.

I couldn't find any kind of pizza pan or even a cookie sheet at any of the market stalls, so I hope my student, Paloma, brings something to bake it on. There is a little tiny broiler pan in the oven if we get desperate!

I have lost so much weight that my clothes are falling off. I don't have a scale, but I bet I'm down 10 or 15 lbs. Today Thijs said something to me about my baggy clothes, and if he notices, it must be pretty obvious. I guess if I have to work so hard to get groceries, and every time I come back it's up a steep hill and 3 flights of stairs, I'm getting a lot more exercise. It really is a very long walk to the market and back. Some days I decide it's just not worth it, and I eat a bowl of oatmeal for dinner. I eat a lot of yogurt, you can buy that anywhere.

Another blog about food- I guess I don't lead a very exciting life. My classes are going well- I enjoy the teaching very much. Tomorrow, my spanish tutor and I are going shopping for DVDs. It turns out here you can buy them for about $1, so I guess I'll start a collection. Some are English with Spanish subtitles, and some Spanish with English subtitles. Either way, $1 is pretty cheap entertainment.

I hope everyone is well-send me email. My computer is my connection to home!

love, Kathy

Advertisement



27th March 2006

Wonderful opportunity
Kathy, Jim sent me your blog address several weeks ago as a courtesy and also to share what you are about these days....what an incredible opportunity for you! I am glad that you have been able to have this experience for yourself to do such good work; you will remember it always. In my secret thoughts I am envious of you for this time in your life. It appears from your entries that you are having an enjoyable and worthwhile time. My Ashleigh had a similar one in Costa Rica as an exchange student and she speaks fondly of it. It really changed the way that she views the world. It had such an impact upon her that she hopes that her proposed life's work will be in rural development. She has hopes for Central America. You are so fortunate. You were right, perhaps we could have been (or could be) friends. Sincere best wishes to you, Mary Kay

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb