Getting busy.....


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ayacucho
March 8th 2006
Published: March 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi everybody-

I don't have too much to say, except I am doing a lot of teaching. I am teaching a catch-up class from 3-5 for people that miss class for one reason or another, in addition to the morning and evening classes. Today a young woman came to see me, another unemployed teacher actually. She wanted to know if I would converse with her in English 2 or 3 times a week in exchange for a little conversation in Spanish. She spoke English fairly well, but she wants to practice.

A young man named Hugo came to the school to try to arrange English lessons for one or two groups of children from a poor nieghborhood in Ayacucho. From what I could gather, he works in some kind of day care center for poor children.! He showed me some photos, and I told him I would be glad to help. It would be good for my Spanish fluency, or lack thereof!

Thijs told me that he is starting a "Teacher's day out" on Saturdays-an activity and a lunch. Lunch is the main meal of the day. This Saturday, I think it's volleyball. Not my favorite sport, but I think he will drag me if I tell him I'm not going. But Saturday is also my shopping day, and that takes a LONG time to walk to the market and negotiate for groceries. Yesterday, I was quite proud of myself- I bought bread and milk in one trip-I knew exactly where to go, and just as importantly, what time of day to go!

Thijs has arranged to have 2 local artists exhibit their work in the school. One is paintings and the other is these fabulous woven textiles. Hanging the wall textiles will also cut down on the awful echo in the classrooms. When we get them hung I will post photos. One of the artists is a student in my morning class. She said she is bringing something special for my room. I hope she doesn't expect me to buy it.!!

Using the computer as a phone on the internet is working very well. I can call the US and it is very inexpensive or free, depending on what program I use. The sound is fairly good, and it is great to be able to stay connected with family and friends!

All for now. Keep writing everybody!!! I need lots of email.
love, Kathy

Advertisement



11th March 2006

Sorry I haven't written....
Hi Kathy - I've been terrible about writting lately - so sorry. We've had a busy week, nothing terribly interesting to report, but busy. Dave is in Louisiana for an international HAM meeting this weekend. He's been looking forward to it, he loves that stuff. I may go with Mart to Eastview either today or tomorrow, to meet up with Peg for lunch. She'll bring one of Amy's suitcases for Mart to use for the FL trip. Zack will come here on Sunday night, to stay over (and to look at Grandma's ailing computer!), and then he and Mart will be off for Cary on Monday. You already know all that. I've been watching basketball, because Syracuse has been pulling off the most incredible upsets, all in the last minute, or in overtime. They've beat Connecticut and Georgetown, both considered "unbeatable." Tonight they play either Villanova or Pittsburgh. (Pretty mundane, I know.) The brou-ha-ha over the Dubai ports deal has finally subsided. You can imagine the politicking going on! Oh well, at least we don't have to listen to endless jawing about Dick Cheney's hunting accident anymore. This country is rapidly going crazy - a pox on both political houses, I say! We haven't heard much from Meg this week, which I think means that they are exhausted from FINALLY moving into their house. They put on a big push these last 2 weeks to get in, even though all the details of the house weren't finished. I had 2 nice conversations with Scott last night - we were both watching the game, and needed to celebrate with someone. :-) He likes his new job, but is studying for the Postal exam that is coming up. That would be a great job, pay and benefit-wise. I guess with his police training he could handle the Postal Rage. I think I might be more worried about him in that job than in the prison! Better quit. Thanks for doing the blog - it's really great. Congratulations on your growing prowess at shopping! BTW, your student probably DOES expect you to buy the wall-hanging, and won't understand that you really don't have the money. So prepare yourself to be firm.... Love, Jean
12th March 2006

How are you doing?
I love Peru - are you in Ayacucho teaching? I was in Huaraz last summer. Now I'm back in the states. Let us know how you are doing. I'll read your blog.
13th March 2006

for Melody
I'm teaching English in Ayacucho. I'll be here till July 1 if everything goes according to plan. I teach at a school where the tuition that is paid for the classes goes to support a shelter for homeless children in Ayacucho. My biggest challenge is learning Spanish-it's going very slowly! Kathy

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0558s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb