First day at the Orphanage


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ayacucho
August 16th 2005
Published: August 17th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everyone,

Today was my first day at the orphanage. I was with two other people, a couple from New Zealand, named Alyson and Nigel. They are great. We entered the orphanage and walked into a room to be greeted my lots of boys working on their homework. We helped them a bit, but some didn´t have any homework, so we did some English lessons. We had so much fun.

After an hour of that, we played futbol (soccer). It was very fun and quite a work out. The kids are great. I am happy to be here.

After lunch, we had a meeting and a lecture about Care Corps. and their involvement in Ayacucho. We brainstormed the problems we each saw in our placements and some solutions. The Care Corps. director will take the info to her meeting tomorrow.

Just before dinner I had my first Spanish class. I decided to take the intermediate class after having three symesters of it in California. The class was entirely in Spanish and was very conversational. I enjoyed it a lot, but felt a bit like a fish out of water. It has been seven years since my last class. We worked in the past tense, which I need brushing up on, but I was quite good with the infinitive. I´m going to study before my next class on Thursday.
I finished the Kite Runner. It was so good. I am now reading The Alchemist. So far so good. Adios.


Advertisement



17th August 2005

...
sounds great! pictures would be even better...

Tot: 0.184s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1193s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb