ROCKS ARE NOT YOUR FRIENDS


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Arequipa
September 2nd 2005
Published: September 9th 2005
Edit Blog Post

MORE KAYAKING

no pictures for this one cos your intrepid reporter learned well from his last camera/water encounter and left it at the hostel.

After our fantastic expedition in Tenna, Jen and I decided to take up the offer of two days of class 2 and three, with a Peruvian agency. We thought they had a lot to live up to after River Rafting People, and we were right. In terms of organisation and general administrative competence, they were arse. THe guide was good though, as were the rapids themselves-the river was more densely rapided (terrible english but i dont care), and the equipment was good too; good kayaks and Carbon Fibre paddles.

Overall, it was made more apparant than ever that rocks arent friendly and the roll is difficult when you need it. On day 1 I got bored of being in my kayak and decided to upend myself, for no real reason other than stupidity, and bounce down a class 3 section while clattering myself off stuff. I felt quite silly.

Day 2 made me feel better though, cos that was the first day EVER that i didnt fall out at all. I was very pleased.

Slightly less pleased was our guide, particularly when Jen decided that if one paddle was good, then two must be better.
That was the on last rapid of the day. Jen fell out and broke the paddle (mostly because the sandstorm and strong winds we were competing with were knackering, but also because of a big rock), while I expertly looked cool reversing down the section bouncing off rocks and getting submerged by pour-overs. Styed in more by the grace of god than anything, and only looked at all cool because my back was to people and they couldnt hear me screaming.

Food was good too, locally caught shrimp served by an ex-peruvian body builder. Blimey

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1012.3kb