Pitting Bulls!


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Arequipa
July 3rd 2005
Published: July 4th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Picked up the morning paper and verified that the strike is escalating and will essentially shut down the city come Monday

Though I love the city of Arequipa and want to spend more time here, I fell its time we move on as quickly as possible. Road/bus transport is pointless, and train is still susceptible to boulders... so I book two airline tickets to Juliaca (near Puno)...earliest they have is Monday morning.

Alessandra felt better by Midday so we decide to go see the bull fights. We got a cab to the stadium in a suburb of Arequipa (travel within the city is still possible on weekends) Quite an interesting sport, they replaced a matador with another bull. To get the bulls to fight each other they parade, what I guess is, a pretty looking cow between the two bulls. Natural instinct takes over and the two start goring each other. Was very entertaining... interestingly, the organizers had a massive BBQ going on next to the ring....wasn't sure if the bulls were fighting over the cow... or fear of ending up next on the grill. Steak was good.

The strike begins at 6:00 AM tomorrow, so we've made arrangements to get a taxi to the airport at 5:00 AM for our 8:30 AM flight.... I suspect it will be an empty plane.

Arequipa is a wonder full city, I only wish I could stay a while longer, but I fear if we stayed we could end up being permanent residents due to the transportation strike.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

The WinnerThe Winner
The Winner

So whos next!!! You lookin at me!!


Tot: 0.27s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1805s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb