adrenaline rushes in Huaraz


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ancash » Huaraz
September 3rd 2008
Published: September 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Huaraz is the base for many adventures within the Cordillera mountain range, some of the highest and snow capped mountains in Peru. The city of Huaraz is not so pretty, but it´s people give it a certain charm and vibrant personality. And it´s the first time i have seen other white people in a while!

After finding the California Cafe (run by a real Cali native) and a yummy breakfast of pancakes, coffee and fresh yogurt with honey, I was ready to take in the city and book my adventures.

trekking is the main attraction, but since the trekking is long (7 to 10 days) and often includes some ice climbing, I decided to stick with my original plan and do some rock climbing.

My guide and I took off for the town of Monterey and spent the next 3 hours repelling off bridges and climbing up the rocks overlooking a spectacular little waterfall and river running over the rocks. I haven´t been climbing in about a year (Morocco) and was a bit nervous at first, but soon was monkeying all over the place!! Rock climbing is a challenge on many levels, mentally and physically, and today i´m sore (really need a massage actually!) but feeling good and happy nonetheless.

Next for some mountain biking, mostly downhill, starting from 3800 meters or so (you do the math) and with my bike named ´stinky five´went all the way downhill amist cold winds, hot sun, barking dogs, and road construction workers yelling ´gringa!´amongst a breaktaking mountain view - what a day!!

At the bottom, waiting for me, my friend Carlos (yes i met another one) an artisan who makes silver and other kinds of jewelry and was even kind enough to teach me some jewery making and I now have my own cute little bracelet which i made with my own two hands. Carlos only knows one word in English, which is ´nice´. So I got to have an entire night of Spanish conversation, and as it turns out, my Spanish is muy bonita, but I´m sure he was just being nice haha!

This morning I left the high altitudes of Huaraz and am back on the shore in the small town of Casma. Tomorrow I will see some ruins and then head north to the city of Trujillo. I´m just happy to see some ocean again and smooth roads hurrah!!

Advertisement



3rd September 2008

cool
monkey!!! I am so happy for you!

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0443s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb