im still alive...just about!!


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ancash » Huaraz
January 26th 2007
Published: January 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

hey guys,

just a wee update to let you know how i´m surviving!! i have been with my host family for nearly a week now...it´s a pretty amazing place with mountain views and a stream running at the back of the garden. luckily for me, the amenities are pretty good too. three meals a day cooked by my surrogate mum....my own bedroom and even internet access!!

...so the three meals a day...hmm...they´ve been nice, well sort of...it´s been a while since i´ve had to force feed myself just to be polite! i get the same sized portions as the other 6" guy chris who has been put in the house with me(he´s another volunteer on the project!!)

...and my bedroom well it´s kinda like something out of a horror movie (i slept in my own sleeping bag the first night for some comfort,hehe!) there are religious painting above my head as i sleep...one eyed bears to the dozen and so many dolls with no clothes on!! (apparently ít´s a girls room´!!) i´ve also taken to having freezing cold showers...after being electrocuted 4 times...i´ve given up trying to figure out the live wire temperature gauge!!

day to day we have about 5 hours of spanish with two other girls from the project who are staying with another family. it´s pretty intense seems as our teacher is our surrogate father...so our lessons last through meal times too!!all good fun though.

so i´m here for another week to perfect the spanish then i move up to the mountain lodge for the voluntary work...be nice to hear from you all before i become a wilderness hermit, hehe.

sending my love,

sarah xxx


Advertisement



28th January 2007

nice
sounds great!wish i was having cold showers and average grub but i've been loving it rent free and with a warm shower at my aunties, he he! Hope you're surviving alright, toughening up-got hairs on your chest yet?xx

Tot: 0.034s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.019s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1009.7kb