SAnta Cruz Trek


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ancash » Cordillera Blanca
April 21st 2006
Published: April 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Just finished the Santa Cruz Trek. It´s bewwwwwwdiful. Another spectacular glacial valley. Pen and Shannon have arrived and came on teh hike. So it was us, our guide Samuel, the arriero Morino, and two Israelis Idan and Omri. Lucky those boys went mad with their digicams so we have a bunch of photos.

oh yeah, the night before i had an emergency visit to the emergency section of the huaraz hospital because my tum was still rotten adn i really hadn´t eaten anything and kept it down for over one week. Great way to lose that canada flab by the way...

that was an experience. i felt like i had the entire emergency staff all gathered around my bed looking at my white and bloated belly. all talking only in spanish. but my spanish was enough to get the point across. i bet they see it a bit. they wanted to keep me in the hospital and put me on a drip but pen and i said no thanks, just give me the antibiotics adn lets go.

they gave me some injection to induce vomiiting, but after a false trip to a seedy bathroom i just wanted to leave, adn no thanks to having my photo taken with your mobile phone too. jokes that we´d have to stay the night didn´t go down too well. when they went away we just up and left. everything, consulation and drugs included, cost about $5usd.

Santa cruz. amazing. can´t really describe it just look at the photos. pane de mais is not made solely from corn despite what our guide Samuel insisted, so breakfasts adn lunches for me were pretty minimal. not good when you´re climbing 4200m passes...

pen got KILLER blisters.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0542s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb