Some cultural observations


Advertisement
Paraguay's flag
South America » Paraguay » Asunciòn
August 10th 2010
Published: August 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

After nearly being in Asuncion for two weeks, certain cultural things have started to stand out. I am going to try and write this as neutrally as possible, so here goes...

First of all, something that I was expecting, is that the sense of time here it very different. For example my students don't appear to be worried or concerned about turning up for a class half an hour late, or not turning up at all for that matter. Also, things very often seem to be put off until tomorrow, but then of course, tomorrow never comes. Now these I can live with. I can adapt my use, my idea, of time very easily, and I am quite looking forward to it.

Something I am not sure I can get used to is the men here (sorry men!)... There are either two distinct types of men, or they are very contradictory. I have met some perfect gentlemen types, who carry my bags for me and open doors for me, these kind of things, which is great! More guys back home should try this. However there are others who are very forward, for example on the way to work today I was propositioned in the street in the middle of the day my a complete stranger. I have been constantly pomped at by men in cars and have had many crude comments shouted at me... Now, those who know me, I am sure you have a good idea of how I reacted to this! Although maybe it is because I am foreign, which takes me to my next point...

Paraguayans have some kind of sixth sense or something. They can automatically tell who is foreign and who is not. You might think this is obviously because I am pale and have blue eyes, but many Paraguayans also have these features. I don't know if it is the way we walk, dress, smell?? But yes, they can tell!

What else... oh yes, the travel here is VERY different, but so much so that it will have a blog of its own sometime next week.

MEAT! Yes... I know so many guys back home that would love the diet here. Mostly meat. Not much veg, not much fruit, lots of pastry, not much else... For example, at the weekend I went to a BBQ which consisted of lots of beer and wine, a small bowl of salad, and LOTS OF MEAT, cut up and passed around as nibbles. I am learning to like it, although I am looking forward to being able to cook my own food. Also, at fast food places, the food is weighed to value it... instead of being priced per item. For me, this is great! As I generally eat less, and therefore spend less, than most people.


I think I have already mentioned that Paraguayans like to share things... terrere, bottles of beer, that kind of thing, with all their friends, just passing it along. Not so hygienic, but very sociable. Paraguayans seem to be very sociable. I have been invited to quite a few different things so far. All good. Paraguayans also appear to be very touchy-feely. Which I don't mind. But other Enlgish people may not be fans of this!

Erm... ooo, yes, I was at a friends house, I stopped over after a night out, and in the morning, there was a man stood outside the front door clapping and shouting 'water'. I though he was a crazy person at first, and then I remembered reading in the guide book that some people do this, clap, instead of knocking on the door. The man was delivering water to the house.

A couple more things... the centre is like a ghost town on Saturdays and Sundays.

And the people here keep telling us how dangerous everything is... but to be honest, after going to Lima and Cairo, and Preston (haha)... it doesn't seem so bad (touch wood).

So these are my observations so far...
Hopefully there will be more soon. 😊



Advertisement



10th August 2010

you spelt meat wrong three times...
well done :p x
10th August 2010

Yeah well you know I can't spell. Changed it now. Did you not notice obervations as well??
20th August 2010

Gr8!!
Hi, i'm from Paraguay, gr8 stories! Hope you spend good days here in Asunción

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0395s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb