Tom's fourth letter


Advertisement
Guyana's flag
South America » Guyana
February 23rd 2008
Published: February 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone. This is my fourth update on life in Wauna. Since I last wrote, I haven’t actually spent that much time in Wauna. I’ve been on my Christmas holidays! Myself along with 16 other volunteers spent two weeks in Tobago, one the beach, diving and relaxing away from school and Guyana. It took some persuasion that I was actually a white tourist on a sun, sea and sand holiday. It took the Tobagans some persuasion that we were volunteers from Guyana so we didn’t have so much money to spend on souvenirs!
After Tobago, Iain (a volunteer) and I stopped off in Port of Spain, Trinidad to revel in the Western life whilst we had the chance!
A holiday like that made it very difficult to fit back into life in Wauna. But after a day of adjusting, both Dan and myself were in our routine. School didn’t really help with this, it is so disrupted right now, you wouldn’t believe.
The whole secondary department has spent the last three days planning a timetable because the secondary mistress was unhappy with the first!
There is also an inspector comingin to check the new kitchen before food can be served so today was devoted to a mass clean-up operation!
I have finally got things moving with the basketball court. Hopefully work should start on it this weekend and everyone will be able to play soon! The only bad news is that it’s the rainy season. Living here, I can really understand why they call it the rainy season. I haven’t seen the sun in 3 days!
To sum things up, I’m honestly glad to be back. It’s nice to have the security of your own house and a small village. I also missed the Amerindian accent and especially the smiles on the kid’s faces!

Tom.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb