Ecuador


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador
January 2nd 2010
Published: January 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hi all!

Sorry for the lack of updates lately, but the past month has been a little hectic. So I finished classes December 9th, my roommate Val and I moved out of our old house and then went off on a 12 day trip to Ecuador—motivation for this trip came from my lack of a legal status in Peru. My visa was expired and I was paying $1/day to be in Peru.

Right when we got off the plane in Ecuador we could tell that we were in another country—everything was more developed and the people were a lot more respectful to us gringas. We spent a couple days in the capital Quito then went south to a national reserve for a two day horseback riding adventure. It was awesome riding around this park that was surrounded by volcanoes. We definitely did not realize how rough horseback riding is on different muscle groups until we could barely walk after. It reminded me of how sore I get after a few days of hardcore waterskiing up in Minocqua. Yeah I know, horseback riding…..

I was really excited to go to the equator (and be on two hemispheres at the same time...yeah!) and got there only to realize that it is a lame tourist trap called the "Middle of the World Tourist City." We were a bit disappointed but made the most of it.

While we were in Quito we met a very nice German guy who was volunteering out in the jungle and invited us out there to show us some small “village” Ecuador culture. I was a little nervous to be heading into the jungle again, but lucky for me it was more of a tropical forest and didn’t have all the interesting creatures I saw on my last trip. It was really cool hanging out with Fabian’s (new German friend) host family and spending time really diving into Ecuadorian culture. He and some locals even took us out on a hike to a waterfall. Certain incidents turned what should have been a 4 hour hike into an 8 hour trek - Val finding a tarantula in her boot (and almost dying), very muddy terrain, having to cross rivers and trek up them, and Val having to save the dog who almost drowned in the river. It was definitely worth it though.

After our adventure in the “tropical forest” we headed out to a little beach town called Montañita. It was nice being on the ocean for a couple days but the weather was crappy and we could only handle being completely surrounded by surfer hippies for so long.

We headed back to Quayaquil to catch our flight home Christmas Eve and luckily got into Lima about 10 minutes after my family did.

All in all, it was an amazing trip and my roommate Val and I are in love with Ecuador!

It was great having my family here to visit, but it really felt like I skipped Christmas. We spent 2 days sightseeing in Lima then flew up to Piura to do mission work with our church group again.

Thanks to everyone who sent Christmas presents with my parents! I will be spending the money traveling when my friend comes tomorrow. We are going sandboarding and dune buggying in a desert south of Lima then heading to Machu Picchu.

I hope you all had an amazing Christmas and New Year’s. Miss you tons!!!!


Megan


New address:
Jiron Bacaflor 368
Urbanizacion Orrantia
Magdalena, Lima 17
Peru



Additional photos below
Photos: 40, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

horseback ridinghorseback riding
horseback riding

hot helmets.


4th January 2010

2010 or bust
Megan, wow you keep amazing us! Sure missed you here at Christmas. Fam is so proud of you and still seriously praying for your safety. We love you - John and Jean
4th January 2010

Miss ya!
Hi Megan! Was so special that your Mom and Dad and Andrew were able to come and spend Christmas with you. We had a very nice Christmas at David and Kathleen's. Met Maria's new boyfriend, Dave. Your Dad just sent pictures from their trip to see you. very nice. So nice that you could give "your family" a new roof. Sorry I couldn't send you any jelly, but it will be here for you when you return. Love, Grandma and Grandpa

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb