Puerto Lopez


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » West » Puerto López
July 28th 2016
Published: July 28th 2016
Edit Blog Post

image.image.image.

First day at Puerto Lopez...
After the excitement of the Quilotoa hike, I went to Puerto Lopez on the coast. I did not know that Pacific coast was known for its clouds and wind so it was a bit of shock when I got there. The beach was a construction site so it was not very pretty! But I think it will be great next year !
However I still had a really good time here. I took a day tour to the 'Poor man's Galapagos' aka la Isla de la Plata. On the boat, I bumped into a Canadian lady that I had met in Otavalo market. This time, her sister was here too ( she had been too ill to go to Otavalo). On the way to the island, the boat was looking for the humpback whales as this is the season they travel from Antarctica to give birth here off the coast of South America. We saw a some splashes in the distance, a couple of tails... I thought that's probably as good as it gets on tours like this. But boy was I wrong, they were just looking for whales that were playing as opposed to the sleepy ones that only come
image.image.image.

On our way to the tour, the fisherman are coming back with lots of fish that birds try to steal
up to breathe. Right next to the island, two or three whales were having some fun, it was gorgeous to watch!! We then landed on the beach of the Isla de la Plata where turtles were playing around the boats. Some birds were fishing around us. We did a little hike on the protected island, a lot of it was closed cause of protected birds breeding. But we saw lots of blue footed boobies (don't know why you would call a bird that) they are so gorgeous though and they walk funny. A few of them were nesting their egg. We even saw a brand new egg as explained by he guide cause it was blue. They turn white over time. There were a few other species flying over our heads but I don't remember their names (sorry Josh). We then walked back to the boat and passed some Spanish speaking tourists, ignorant me just walked past them without really looking but I was told afterwards that it was the President of Ecuador. Whoops!
We then had lunch on the boat and went snorkelling round the corner from the island where there is a small coral reef. Knowing myself with
image.image.image.

Walk through creepy trees.. Felt like the sleeping beauty story
water and sea creatures, I was the only idiot with a lifevest on but hey at least I am alive! I did get stung by a jellyfish which I am glad I learnt too late that there WERE jellyfish otherwise I wouldn't have gone in. There some pretty colourful fish but not as impressive as the carribeans I must say.
In the evening, the lovely Canadian sisters invited me to join them for dinner in a pizza place which was just a small space with a wooden table and a pizza oven but it was lovely.
The next day I went on a walk to the Machalilla National Park which consists of the same dry vegetation as on the island but with protected beaches that had nobody on them (maybe cause it was the morning as well) eventhough the sea is too rough and there are hidden rocks under the sand so you wouldn't go swim there, it was so nice to have the beach for myself ! Nemo tries to escape but I convinced him to stay with me 😉
The last beach was the most touristic one cause you can swim in it as it is in a
image.image.image.

Machalilla national Park, la playa negrita
small creek and the car park is right next to it... So I actually preferred the less famous ones.


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

image.image.
image.

Nemo trying to escape
image.image.
image.

Machalilla park, la playa de la Tortugita
image.image.
image.

Nemo was impressed by the faults in the outcrop!!!
image.image.
image.

Machalilla park, bird
DSC_0472DSC_0472
DSC_0472

arriving on isla de la Plata
DSC_0480DSC_0480
DSC_0480

blue footed boobies
DSC_0490DSC_0490
DSC_0490

isla de la Plata


29th July 2016

Jellyfish and Nemo
Tu nous dais rite car en a prone 3 semaines tu auras cotoyé touted les creatures de la terre qui te terrorisaient jusqu'à present. Since bravo tu do is finalement etre vaccinée à présent. Plutôt que de se barrer Nemo devrait être ton garde du corps. Ou t'alerter sur les jellyfish. Je t'embrasse ??Dad

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 13; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0583s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb