Who´´d have thought bird poo could look like silver!


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » West » Puerto López
August 21st 2006
Published: August 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

On Saturday we went on a boat trip to the Isla de la Plato (Island of silver) so called cos people thought it looked like silver when the light from the moon and sun reflected off all the bird poo on the island! It was also cos they found silver there.

On the island we saw blue footed boobies (they have blue feet cos of the fish they eat), an albatros and some other birds that I forget the name of the avid bird watcher that I am!

It was amazing how close you could get to them. They have no predators so have no fear.

After the island we went snorkelling just off the island. It was a bit rubbish tho it was really clear water but all the fish were really small.

On the way back to Puerto Lopez we did some more whale watching. This time it wasn´t quite as cool cos they were really far away. I did see a mantaray swim past our boat a couple of times tho which was really cool they just glide in the water.

All together it was a pretty cool weekend - apart from the 10 hour journey there and 12 hour journey back!

Advertisement



23rd August 2006

Hi Sarah!
Hi Sarah, it's jack. It looks well cool, I'm coming out in 10 days and am well excited! I think I'm spending 3 weeks near Santa Domingo and 3 weeks near Octavio but will also be in Quito for a bit - will you be anywhere near any of this? Also, do mobiles work out there? See you soon!
23rd August 2006

Hi
I´m staying in Quito the whole time during the week not 100% sure where I´ll be at weekends but I´ll let you know. I need to look on the map where you are to let you know if any of the places I had in mind are near you. Loads of people have had problems with mobiles in Ecuador I didn´t bring mine so i don´t know. You can get one here for $40-$50. Hopefully might see you here I´m sure you´ll have a wicked time too!

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb