Another Cold Drizzly Day


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » West » Montañita
November 4th 2009
Published: November 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I am sick and tired of the overcast drizzly days in Montañita. I hear great things about Mancora, Peru and may be heading down there sometime early next week if my cashola comes in from unemployment. From what travelers are saying, it´s hot and sunny, and BEAUTIFUL...something I was expecting Montañita to be while I was here...but unfortunately it is not a great place to get a tan right now...great for surfing, but not great for looking like I was in South America for a month!

I´m getting used to the construction going on and am doing a good job learning to ignore it and keep sleeping. I got up around 1130 and headed to the internet cafe to update last night´s journal as well as to get my fix in Mafia Wars. I headed down the street to get some fresh fruit and passed Raya who recommended a great place for breakfast her and Braeden and visited earlier today, so I headed to the little hole in the wall. It wasn´t too bad...I finally had some ham in my scrabbled eggs and cheese as well as some toast and jam, warm milk/coffee, and a fresh raspberry smoothie...not too bad for 3 bucks.

After breakfast I headed back to the cabañas to change and get ready to meet Braeden on the beach at 1 to surf. I grabbed my board out of Rob´s room and headed to school to swap out my board for something a bit smaller and more maneuverable. Isidro was not in so I couldn´t trade anything then. I sucked it up and headed to the beach to find Braeden and Raya chilling on the sand waiting for the waves to get bigger. We hung out and chatted for about an hour until high tide finally hit. Raya disappeared back to the room while the two of us hit the surf. Everyone else from the cabañas and school were in class...suckas!

The waves weren´t too great until about 3 when they started coming in like champs! I´m doing better popping up on the board quicker, but my balsa board is still too big and not really maneuverable. Around 330 locals started coming in droves and it started getting crowded. I called it a day and headed back to the cabaña for a hot shower and to change.

Around 5pm I headed to the school to swap our my longboard for a shorter board bc I think it would be more fun. I went from an 8ft board to a 6.5 foot board. I was so excited to get on and see how it feels that I ran back to the cabañas and changed and headed out to meet up with Braeden who was still riding since 3! Wow, it is a lot of fun...very maneuverable and worth it.

Around 6/630 Braeden called it quits so I headed down the beach to look for the surf class that started at 5pm that had all the spanish school kids in it...I couldn´t find them so I headed back to the cabañas for a change and hot shower. I headed out to get some food and ran into Raya and Braeden again so I had dinner with them. I did the shrimp with hot peppers and coconot, Raya had spagetti with meat sauce, and Braeden and fried shrimp. At the end of dinner I saw the cabaña people across the street so I joined them for a coke to hang out while the canadians headed back to their room.

A new girl was with the group, Sandra from Germany...very cute too. She´ll be here for 3 weeks. I told her my heritage was German and she asked my last name, I told her Seitz. She smiled and said her name was Peitz! She said we should get married and be Peitz-Seitz...I happily agreed!...although I promised my mom I wouldn´t get married in Ecuador!

After dinner we headed to the pool bar where the bartender was sleeping so we grabbed our own beers and played pool til about 11pm. I was flirting pretty heavily with Sandra and it looked like she was liking it! Rahul and I ran the table for over an hour and then I picked up Sandra as my partner...we won the final game so Peitz-Seitz domintated pool tonight!

I walked her back to the cabañas and we called it a night.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb