On the road again...


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » South » Vilcabamba
March 3rd 2006
Published: March 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

On the horseback riding tripOn the horseback riding tripOn the horseback riding trip

From left to right: Joe, Angie, a new but now lost friend Angela, and our guide Fidel
Hola amigos y familia,

Well I am in Loja about to leave on a nine hour bus ride to Piura, PERU!! Finally a new country! Arriving early tomorrow morning the plan is to continue along to the coast for a much...well NEEDED isn´t the word.... nor is deserved, maybe....-wanted- dip in the ocean. For the last two days I have been in Vilcabamba post carnivale to experience why exactly it is known as the most desirable retirement town in south america. And experience that I did. The town seems to settle into a very slow but productive pace. Slow enough to stop and say hello to the fellow townsmen that everyone seems to know but fast enough to make it feel like there is lots going on. Also the town is flanked by gorgeous mountains on all sides... that sure helps make it feel ´tranquilo´. I met many foreign people who have retired to Vilcabamba after a ratraced kind of life (including a philosophy professor from USA whom I spoke with a lot).

Last night I also go my first experience with a motorcycle, having been offered to drive a local guy´s hog around the town. I have to say I loved it (did I just hear my parents swallow hard?) but haven't gone so far as to buy one yet, so don't worry too much. The thought HAS been running through my head all day, but I concluded (however tentatively...) that I will hold off either indefinetely or until I can take some safety courses in Canada and be on safer roads. For now you can sleep at night, mom.

Today Joe, Angie and I went for what was my third horseback riding trip through the mountains surrounding Vilcabamba, the tamest ride yet, on my horse I named 'Gasbag' (you can guess why). Although not quite as breathtaking as the other rides it was really nice, the highlight being the dip in the water under and around a 15 meter waterfall. Or maybe the view of the green brown valley rising steeply from the narrow, winding river that had carved its way downward for centuries.

As for me I am having a great time and am really loving that I can now really converse with people in spanish. It is amazing to find meaning in the noise I used to find indecipherable. It has really opened doors to me and I am glad that so many new opportunities are open to me. I think now that I can chat with people it will only get better faster, too, which is really nice. Now, time for an ecuadorian girlfriend...

The plan, as far as I can dream of one, is to head through the andes of peru to La Paz, Bolivia. I was told by the ex-philosophy proff that the trip takes a month if you hury and two if you have a good but quick look around. I guess climbing up and down enormous andean peaks takes time - who knew?

ciao for now,



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

People swimming in VilcabambaPeople swimming in Vilcabamba
People swimming in Vilcabamba

A popular swimming joint. I went for a dip, too. Agua fria!


Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 18; qc: 95; dbt: 0.0933s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb