Day 4


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
December 11th 2014
Published: December 12th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Woke up feeling more acclimated to the altitude. I grabbed a quick bite to eat and headed back out on foot. I walked to a famous park, ''Parque Edijo'' and sat down on a bench and people watched for about 45 minutes (did a little reading too). Eventually I walked out of the park and a double decker tour bus pulled up. On a whim I decided, ''why not''. I jumped on the bus and by the second stop I had made 5 new friends. 2 Argentine ladies (approx 50 years of age), 2 Venezualans (mid 30s), and a Cuban girl (around my age). None of them spoke a lick of English.



The Tour was pretty awesome as it took us to many vantage points I otherwise would have never been too. We went through ''Old Town'' and stopped by a handful of church's and Plazas. It is very unchanged part of town since the Spanish Conquistadors took the City a few centuries ago. It was a very neet place with cobblestone streets, street vendors, and magnificent architecture. Beyond that we went to the famous monument that sits on top of a big hill of a Winged Saint. The statue was about 100 meters tall and you can see it through most of the City. At our next stop we took a cable car that took us to the top of a mountain that sits at the edge of the City over 13,000 ft tall which gave us magnificent views of the City.



My new friends and I had so much fun talking and laughing. At times the conversation was over my head but that never stopped me from laughing and communicating with them. There was very few times where we could not get our points across. My spanish increased 10 folds that day as I was constantly talking and listening with a group of fluent speakers. Everyone was so nice and we had so much fun that day, we were definitely the loudest group on the bus as there was never a dull moment.



I ended up meating up with the Aregentine women for dinner and drinks. We hung out from 8-12 drinking, eating, and even a little disco tech action. We had such a good time just talking and learning about eachother as well as our cultures. The day flew by and was over before I knew it.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb