Day 3


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
December 10th 2014
Published: December 12th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I woke up thursday feeling a little better. The altitutde was still rough as I felt short of breath all night while sleeping. But I was not going to let that slow me down. So I took a quick shower, through my backpack on my back, and headed out to the City. Not knowing really where to go I just started walking. I spent the day in New Town mostly which is the more modern part of the City. I check out 3 or 4 parks within the City. I never would have thought that another City could rival the parks in Portland. They are layed out much different but very pretty and quite tranquil during the week.



Eventually I got hungry and stopped at some hole in the wall place that was packed. Payed $3.50 for too much food. Consisted of soup, a chicken leg (which was phenominal) Rice, and Greens. After eating I was stuffed and just headed back out. After walking around for 4 hours I was feeling a little fatigued, partially due to the altitude. So I decided to head back to my hostel to take a nap.





After the power nap I headed to Plaza Foch aka Gringoland. I had a beer at some beer pub and I was not impressed with there beer one bit (spoiled living in Oregon). I walked across the Plaza to some cocktail bar. There I met a Canadian Couple in their late 60s or early 70s. I overheard them speaking english and just kind of intrudeded upon them. We ended up having a couple of cocktails and evntually dinner. We all caught a little buz and had a wonderful evening.



They were fellow travelers who haved spent a good portion of their life traveling. They gave me a lot of advice and we just really meshed well. Around 10 I headed back to my hostel to get some shut eye as I was pretty beat.



Quote of the Day - ''Practice not doing, and everything will fall into place'' Lao-Tzu, Tao Te Ching

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0257s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb