I caught a pirana!!


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
August 29th 2006
Published: August 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I'm lying I didn't really. Milton one of the guys at the lodge who was the guides companion (did all the machete stuff) caught 2 and I took a photo pretending I caught it! I did catch one fish though. It was called a globe fish in english (I think) it was so small I didn't bother to take a photo however it was quite cool you could blow it up so it was spherical (probably how it got its name).

In the morning we went for another walk through the jungle (technically it's a forest). We went to a really tall tower which you could see all the birds in the top of the canope. This was really amazing too. However on the way back it absolutely pelted it down we were all soaked! Which was fun until I realised i only had one pair of trousers and I had to get the night bus home that day! Fedricka one of the girls with us lent me her trousers (which were amusingly too big) and she wore her pyjama bottoms.

We had to go back to Coca at 1 cos some people had a plane to catch at 3. This was initially the most depressing thing in the world because Coca is probably the one town here I wouldn't care if I ever saw again. However we found a nice cafe to have a few beers and then a nice clean (which is difficult to find in Coca) restaurant for some pizza.

Then it was the night bus home again. It was so typical it took 8 hours to go from Quito to Coca when we wanted it to take 10 and it took 11 hours to get from Coca to Quito when we wanted it to take 8! We got stopped 3 times by the police for identity and bag checks it was very inconvient!

However all in all it was probably the best weekend I have had here so far and they have all been pretty amazing.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0402s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb