Latitude 00.00º


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
June 7th 2006
Published: June 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Atlast, I have reached the EquatorAtlast, I have reached the EquatorAtlast, I have reached the Equator

I have now been in both hemispheres at the same time. Sweet!
Lift off baby! Cruising 32 thousand feet in our upper atmosphere, all I could think about was getting to the nearest travel agency upon arrival. I was hungry to see what kind of adventures I could get myself into. I also couldn’t help thinking about sinking my teeth into the filet of salmon that I was just served in First Class. Yeah, that's right...First Class. I was randomly selected by the computer to be bumped up, meaning fat, fluffy seats, a gourmet lunch, moist towels, and royal treatment (life's good). I must say that I sure stuck out among the high class, dressed in my backpacker garb, unshaven scruff, and an unshowered funky aroma that I believe originated from me. The flight was short, but sweet. Seconds after crossing the equator into the Southern Hemisphere, we touched down in Ecuador's capital of Quito, which is nestled high in an Andean valley 2850m (roughly 8500ft) above sea level. The temperature was a bit chilly. I went from the usual T-shirt, shorts, and flip flops to long pants, shirt, and jacket (a beanie for my bald head at night). This is now my third consecutive country capital in the past week (San José, Panama City, and Quito). I am almost citied out. Quito is a hub for setting up adventure and tourist excursions throughout the country. So, the first thing I did after checking in at El Centro del Mundo Hostel, was walk across the street to the nearest travel agency. I looked into two different trip options - Galapagos Islands tour (5-8 days) or the Amazon River tour (4-5 days). The package prices were outrageous (ex. Galapagos tour: $1000-$1500). I made my way to several other agencies and compared prices; all carried similar packages. I explained to the agencies that I wasn't looking for your usual tourist babysitting tour with English speaking guides and high dollar accommodations. I told them that I would rough it, bring my own food, work on a boat, whatever. Only one of the agencies showed some promise, it was a couple of local girls who said they would make a call to a friend that worked on the Amazon and get back to me on the following day. Well, I will get back to what I finally decided on later, but I will leave you with a clue. What do you, who know me best, think I decided on: spend bukoos
Noooo! I can't be over powered by a WomanNoooo! I can't be over powered by a WomanNoooo! I can't be over powered by a Woman

The loss of resistence test on the equator. Alright I admit, I was crushed by a woman; but only on the equator.
of cash to see sea lions, pelicans, and blue-footed boobies (that really is a bird, I wasn't being perverted) or spend a fourth of that money to see hungry gators, voracious piranhas, and giant anacondas. I will let you stew on that toughy for a bit.

After reaching a verdict on my upcoming travels, my next order of business was to find that stinkin' equator that has made my life a living furnace for the past couple of months. After hopping city buses for a good hour, I finally arrived at Mitad del Mundo (Middle of the World). While searching for the correct bus out of town, I ran into a British couple (Jonny and Em) who had just arrived in South America from Asia. They too were headed for the site and had yet to take Spanish lessons, so we stuck together. One useful bit of information I had learned before arriving, was that the site that the bus dropped you at was not actually the correct spot. For many a years, the true location of the equator was thought to have been here and a museum and statues were built as a tourist attraction. Just seven years ago, GPS
Which way will it turn, which way will it turn?Which way will it turn, which way will it turn?Which way will it turn, which way will it turn?

Water drops straight down at the equator, it spins clockwise in the Southern Hemisphere, and counter-clockwise in the Northern Hemisphere. No Joke!
readings were taken and the actual location was 100 yards up the road (but they won't tell you that). So instead of paying their entrance fee, we hiked up the street to the true location of the equator. This site was the real deal and it had the scientific demonstrations to back it up. We watched as water drained straight down (no spin whatsoever), balanced an egg on a nail, attempted to walk a straight line on the equator, and showed how a person's resistance strength is weakened. This was no joke. I stood off to the side and held my arms firmly above my head and laughed as the girls couldn't even budge me. Next we stood directly on the equator and the ladies now had their laugh as they crumpled me like weakling (no kidding). It all has something to do with the gravitational pull being less on the equator, but I can't really explain it because I didn't pay enough attention. I was too busy thinking about being overpowered by a woman. Following the demonstrations, we were taught a little about the history of the Indians that had lived here long ago. We learned how a warrior
Balance TestBalance TestBalance Test

If someone gets pulled over by a cop while on the equator and is given a soberity test; they are toast!
shrunk the head of his enemy after defeating him and hung it on his house as a trophy (pretty freaky). We also shot blow guns, saw the giant gerbils they ate as food (great source of lean protein), and learned about the unique construction of their homes. I must say that I was pleasantly surprised with the informative tour we were given and now can say that I have been in both hemispheres at the same time (sweet). Following the day at the middle of the world, I joined Jonny and his wife Em for a delicious Indian food dinner. The couple had been married a year and were travelling the world together. They were full of life and super friendly. It was a pleasure to have met them.

The rest of my time in Quito was spent hopping buses all over the city and preparing for my upcoming trip. The people of Ecuador are very friendly and went out of their way on several occasions to help me. One fellow actually walked around with me for an hour helping me search out a bank that would change dollars into the Peruvian Soles (hint). We never found one, but I got in some good Spanish practice. On another occasion, I flagged a bus down and asked if it was headed in the direction of the main bus terminal; he replied yes so I climbed on. After about four or five blocks, the locals on the bus started telling me that it really wasn't headed close to where I wanted to go and the driver just wanted my money. I thanked everyone for helping me, demanded the driver to stop right there, and refused to pay him when he asked, which caused laughter on the bus and ticking off the driver as I waved by to everyone from the curb. You always have your good and bad people in every place you go. Jonny and Em were nearly mugged their first night, but I have found that the majority of the people are very kind hearted and welcoming to visitors. I believe it all depends on circumstance anywhere you go. Now, if you back home don't know, it is World Cup time and it is crazy down here. Friday the 9th was the opening day for La Copa Mundial (The World Cup), and every person around was glued to the television. First game was between Germany and Costa Rica, with the dominating victory going to Germany. The following game was between Poland and Ecuador, and guess where I am. I went to a local restaurant to meet Claire (my British friend I met in Nicaragua), who had informed me by e-mail that she would be arriving in Quito that day. I spent the afternoon with Claire and some of her new friends that she had met on her Galapagos tour. After the first half, we moved to a local bar where the atmosphere was much more exciting. We watched and cheered with the locals as their team crushed Poland. It was only Ecuador's second time to qualify for the Cup, and they were not favored to win. It was an awesome game and there was no better place to have watched it. The people of Quito swarmed the streets in the celebration of their victory. I have never seen anything quite like it. The celebration was more like a riot. Kids covered the busy streets and stopped all traffic. The mob began bouncing and shaking cars, climbing on buses, and jumping all about. Country flags filled the air and the chant of Ecuador could be heard for miles. It was an exciting time for the country and I sure am glad I could there to experience it with them.

Well, you've probably guessed it, I am Amazon bound. I would have loved to have seen the Galapagos Islands, but I will just have to save that trip for another day. Returning to the travel agent, I soon learned that her friend could get me on several different boats headed down the Amazon, from Ecuador down into Peru. Now, this is not your average tourist trip down the Amazon. I was informed that I would need to buy a hammock to hang in the boat for a bed, bring about 7 days worth of food, water purifying tablets, cash (no banks) and Soles for Peru (never found any - not good), start taking malaria pills, and bring lots and lots of bug spray. I was also informed that I would be staying with soldiers at a military compound for one night on the river (hum...that's interesting). I don't know if there will be any other gringos along for the adventure, and I doubt that anyone will be able to speak
The City of QuitoThe City of QuitoThe City of Quito

The capital and second largest city in Ecuador.
English. Honestly, I have no idea what to expect, but that is the thrill of it. I will be taking a night bus up toward the Colombian border to the town of Coca (named after the cocaine plant - that's nice), and looking in a local restaurant for a man named Luis. I supposedly will take three different boats to my final destination of Iquitos, deep in the Peruvian Amazon Basin. There, I will purchase a ticket for a flight to Cuzco, Peru (base town for hiking to Machu Picchu). The number of days I will be on the river is unknown. I may have the option of staying several days in one of the towns along the way, and maybe do some canoe excursions. The longest boat ride of the three is said to be 4-5 days and only cost $60, but that could possibly change when they get me deep in the jungle. So, I will be away from a computer and out of contact anywhere from 8-14 days. I really need this time away from a computer and journal writing, because I am beginning to get "blog lag". I will miss most of the World Cup games, which I am not happy about, but nature calls. The next time I talk to you, I will be in Peru...I hope. You never know, I could get up there and find that everything wasn't entirely true, but that is the chance I'm willing to take for an adventure like this. Wish me luck and don't worry, I won't do anything stupid like mess around with an anaconda. Although, that would make for one heck of a cover picture on my journal...we'll just have to see. Take care and I'll catch you on the flip side.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



17th January 2007

NICE PICTURES
Hi Curl: I com from Quito...but i really like to travell around the world. Somo thing that produce me curiosity is the fact that you were in Ecuador at least two times...its a wonderdull country eh?? Congratulations for your travell blog...its a funny way to know our beautiful planet. Regards Francisco

Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb