quito


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
March 18th 2011
Published: March 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Quito, capital city of Ecuador. When I arrived it was bloody freezing, maybe because it was 2am in the morning. Maybe because I'd spent 30 hours on a bus from Bogota and I was tired, either way it was a shock to the system; here I was thinking nothing could top the bog, but in fact it seems it's quite moderate there!!
After sitting in a taxi for almost 20 minutes driving around and around, I arrived at a hostel. A nice hostel, as it turns out I was very lucky I was let in at 2am in the morning without a reservation. The Travellers Inn is a former hotel and it showed. It's super clean, has an amazing breakfast; yoghurt, fruit, bread, tea/coffee/hot chocolate, cereal, and eggs, oh yeah, all included. I swapped rooms twice, the first was a private with bathroom included and a super hot shower! and the second was a smaller room, albeit still private without bathroom, awesome!
I only had one day in this vibrant city and it happened to be a Saturday. I loved it. I loved the vibe, the people, the old town, the transport system (25cents will get you a long way) and my day. The sun even shone for part of it! Just quickly on the awesome bus system; it makes sense! They have metro lines running north to south and east to west, through the main parts of the city and like I said, super cheap, 25 cents will get you 10minutes to the old city and 40minutes to the bus station, just perfect!
I spent the day basically wandering around and observing; following a very intriguing old man, looking at the numerous churches and gazing in awe at the huge church you'll see in my photos; The La Basilica, so impressive! the makeshift bridge and ladders they provided to climb up to the tower not so, but I climbed it anyway and had an awesome view one I did. I could see as far as the eye could see, the view that was the greater city of Quito.
After that I didn't do anything else, a spot of shopping here and there and then some blogging, super boring.
However I liked Quito, for that one day, and think it gets a bad wrap from the backpackers most of the time. If i wasn't running out of time I'd definitely like to spend more time here, but I don't, so unfortunately this is the extent of my knowledge on the city that is Quito.


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

the clock towerthe clock tower
the clock tower

a wee bit more impressive than swan hills!
views from the busviews from the bus
views from the bus

on the way from colombia to ecuador


Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0721s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb