Quito


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
July 27th 2010
Published: July 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Me and QuitoMe and QuitoMe and Quito

This is from a viewpoint 3000m above sea level looking down on Quito city.
I arrived in Quito late last night and got to my Hotel la Cartuja. I had a great night´s sleep even if I did wake up at 4am! I had breakfast and then booked myself on a tour of the city and a visit to the Equator! I met my room mate Linda and we took a stroll around the area near our hotel and went for coffee. The coffee was amazing and it was cool to sit and soak up the atmosphere and watch the boot polishers. Then I picked up the bus at 12pm and we headed into the old town. We went to several churches and walked around the oldl centre. Then we headed up to the highest point in Quito 3000m above sea level. The view was amazing and there was a church there built inside a huge statue which I climbed to the top of. Afterwards we went to the centre of the earth 0 degrees! I stood on both sides of the hemisphere and our guide showed us how to do loads of cool tricks like balance an egg on a nail. We also saw how the water went down the drain differently depending on which hemisphere you are on. We also saw how some ancient tribes lived including seeing a shrunken head, a penis fish and some guinea pigs which are a delicacy in Ecuador! Then headed back to the hotel to meet other people on the group. Linda and I then went out for a typical Ecuadorian meal. I had corn on the cob and steak with potatoe and cheese cakes. We leave for the Galapagos at 6.30am for 10 days and no internet so will update when I get back. Am sure there will be lots to say!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

LlamaLlama
Llama

My first llama!!
Me at the centre of the worldMe at the centre of the world
Me at the centre of the world

This is taken on the equator line. I have one foot in the northern and one in the southern hemisphere! Cool!
Egg on a nailEgg on a nail
Egg on a nail

At the equator line it is possible to balance an egg on a nail... et voila! I even got a certificate to prove it!


Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0173s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb