Prague


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague » Old Town
August 20th 2009
Published: August 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Thursday

We left early this morning to catch the bus to Prague. We had to drag our bags around the cobbled streets up a steep hill to a bus station and then caught a very nice bus - posh leather seats and TVs - to Prague. When we got to Prague we were shown to our apartments. I was sharing with four other girls: Andrea, Gill, Grace and Estelle. It was fab as we had our own kitchen and fridge and washing machine! We dumped our bags then met with George who took us on a walk around to get to know the city. Initially it was very confusing. I had no idea where we were going and it seemed like we were walking miles to get everywhere. After a few days though you realise Prague is actually easily accessible and you can walk most places. He showed us the main square but there was some type of football thing going on and there were a group of supporters chanting in the square and getting quite rowdy. Police were there in their riot gear and later it spilled over in a side street and the street was closed off! There was even a police helicopter! After we had our orientation walk we went for lunch at a nearby bagle place - Bohemian bagel. It was really nice and we were to frequent it several times in the future. We then had the rest of the afternoon to ourselves. Me and Gill took a stroll over Charles Bridge then sat at a bar by the river and had a beer and just soaked up the atmosphere and watched the sun go down. We then met up with everyone to go for dinner in a quaint little Czech place in a courtyard before heading back to our apartments.

Friday
Today we were going on a city tour and so we were all meeting in the square at 11am. Therefore I had a leisurely morning. I went for coffee and check my emails at the bagel place before meeting up with everyone in the square. We had a nice tour guide called Sophie from Wales who took us all round Prague and was really enthusiastic and informative. She even told us about the legends of Prague such as the tale of the severed arm!!! Halfway through we stopped for lunch at - guess where??? - the bagel place!! Then we continued the tour. We finished at the river and then me, Steve and Andrea walked over the bridge to look around the castle. Was a very steep climb but worth it because the castle complex was massive and the views were pretty amazing! The others then headed back and I decided to carry on up the hill to check out the monastery and library further up the hill. It was really good but you weren't allowed to take photos so I took some pics. Then headed back to the apartment. Got a bit lost on the way and ended up in the Jewish quarter by accident! Luckily I had a map and found my way back eventually. I met up with Andrea, Gill and Steve for dinner and we tried a place recommended to them by a car driver. Unfortunately, however it was fully booked so we ended up going to a French/Asian fusion restaurant next door. It was actually surprisingly good and made a change from dumplings!

Saturday
Today we had a final free day in Prague and it poured with rain!! I got up bright and early raring to go and it was p***ing it down outside. So I ran to the bagel place again and decided to shelter there until the rain stopped. While I waited I had a coffee and chocolate chip bagel and then ventured back out. Thankfully the rain held off for the rest of the day. I firstly wanted to head over to the theatre so headed in the general direction. I found the market and had a browse round there and bought a painting. Then I carried on and somehow ended up back in the square?! I was just in time though to watch the astronomical clock strike 11am so watched that! Was amazing?! Then I tried again to find the theatre for a second time. This time I was more successful but it was closed! Then consulting my guide book went on a stroll to see what else was around there. I came across a small brewery and then across a crypt in the church of St Cyril. It was really interesting as there was a film that told the story of some Czech resistance fighters that assasinated the Nazi governor of the country at that time and then had hid out in the crypt to avade capture. In the end they had all committed suicide to evade capture. It was a tragic story but one I had never heard before so was glad I had seen it. Then I crossed the river to Petrin park. I caught the little railway up to the top where you can climb the eiffel tower (a mini version) for fantastic views over Prague. After I headed back down the steep slope to meet up with Gill. We had tickets for a boat ride along the river and had a free beer and ice cream! Very nice too! Our captain was fab and really funny and took us all along the river plus up a little tributary called Prague's Venice because all the houses were on the river. After we had a stroll round the Charles Bridge museum which was included in the price and showed how the bridge was built. Then we headed back to meet everyone for dinner.

George took us to a Czech place he knew in a cellar - again!!! - and it was really nice food. A lot of meat but it was good! A few of us then headed back to the square for a few drinks in a jazz bar with live music to say our final farewells to Prague.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0201s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb