A new challenge in Ecuador


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
June 22nd 2006
Published: June 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

A new challenge was offered me, when I accepted the job for Positiv Turismo in Quito, Ecuador. I did not know what expect me there and I did not know the language at all, but I did know that it will be an adventure of a lifetime. I left Switzerland on the 22nd of June 2006 and intendet to come back home after more or less half a year. But only a few month working and living in Ecuador made me feel like half a year is not enough, so I extended my stay for one year.

The first 5 months I was working for a swiss Tour Operator in Quito, called Positiv Turismo. I really learned a lot about Tourism and the country itself. I organised journeys for individual and group tourists, booked hotels, boats, travel guides and so on. After one month, Spanish was not even a problem for me and I really came into it very easy. I have to thank all the people in Positiv Turismo, they are really good mates and I apreciate the time I spent with them.

During my stay in Quito I also had the chance to discover the rest of Ecuador, as it is a very small country (almost like Switzerland) it is quite easy to travel around. Local Bus Systems are easy and cheap, but not always comfortable and secure. In the whole country one should be aware of his belongings, but it is not as dangerous as everybody tells you. Good common sense is all you need.

I went to Otavalo, Mitad del Mundo, climed Rucu Pichincha and Iliniza norte. Went cycling in Banos, sunbathing in Atacames, swum in the Rio Napo and discovered the amazonian jungle like the young Che once upon a time.
I would love to tell you every single detail, but I am afraid there is not enough space on travel blog ;-) please have a look at the pictures, then you will see how amazing this country is...

In November 2006 my good friend Nadine from Switzerland came over and we went traveling in Ecuador, Peru and Bolivia together. See next Travel Blog


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb