Marcos, the BlogMaster, and the Blogging of Quito


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
November 9th 2005
Published: November 19th 2005
Edit Blog Post

The Basilica in QuitoThe Basilica in QuitoThe Basilica in Quito

Quito: The BlogMaster starts his epic journey here.
I would like to preface my journal by explaining that I know absolutely nothing about computers or this thing called a ¨blog¨. Therefore, if pictures do not match captions or my words turn up on your screen as cryptic computer symbols, forgive me for wasting your time.
I flew into Quito on Monday, November 7th. I had planned a 9 ½ week trip starting in northern Ecuador and then meandering south through Peru and Bolivia before finally ending up from Buenos Aires, Argentina by mid-January. Other than that, I had no specific plans.
Gracias a Dios, I had friends to welcome me in Quito. George Leamon, current Peace Corps Volunteer in the Dominican Republic and water systems expert, his girlfriend Abby, and some guy named Rob met me at my hostel. While seeing them soothed over any pre-adventure nerves, I was too tired to enjoy their company and went straight to sleep. The next day I woke up refreshed.
Unsure of what one does in Quito or how one starts an adventure of epic proportions, I decided I would check out the narrow streets of the Historic City. Quito sits over 9000ft above sea level in the northern Andes. I had to continually stop to catch my breath as I sauntered about a maze of colonial architecture. The Andean mountains rise dramatically around the city while concrete edifices spread out interminably in the valleys below. The streets are crowded with a mix of indigenous peoples, government bureaucrats, mendicants, and university students. While the city seemed to be a wonderful mixture of old and new, I was eager to leave Quito to explore the more tranquilo countryside. Furthermore, every gringo I met who had spent more than a week in Quito had been robbed. Most had had their pockets or backpacks slashed on the buses. So, the following day I left.


Advertisement



20th November 2005

good idea
Michael, It sounds like leaving Qito was a wise move. Is there anything else or is the blog over? Alan
4th December 2005

Congratulations, Michel!!! I hope you have a good experience. My best regard for you. I had a meeting with Katy, our good and prety friend. Espero me cuentes como te va todo . Que dios te Bendiga, Un amigo, Ezequiel

Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0264s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb