My New Best Friends: Buffalo, Claudin, and Kiemper Von Shnickenlopf


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » Centre » Chugchilan
November 14th 2005
Published: November 20th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Saquisili MarketSaquisili MarketSaquisili Market

Making knives for the local farmers.
I made my way to Latacunga, a rather gloomy town three hours south of Quito. There was absolutely nothing to do there, so I stayed in and watched Mexican Telenovelas. I woke up early the next morning eager to leave before I became extremely depressed. Latacunga just wasn´t going to be the great start to my epic adventure.
I hopped on a bus and headed for the Black Sheep Inn, an ecolodge that recently won the Smithsonian Best Ecotourism Site, or at least they told me that. On the way I stopped in Saquisili to check out a famous indigenas market; most of the venders were selling bananas, fried food, or some kind of indigenas crafts. To be honest though, I´ve never been a big fan of markets. I think Dajabon killed any curiousity I once had.
The Black Sheep Inn is spectacular. Everything is sustainable. The bathrooms, for example, are composting latrines/greenhouses that have flower gardens growing in them to perfume the air and make your bathroom experience more pleasant. The location is fantastic as well, only a four hour hike to the Laguna Quilatoa (13,500ft). I spent three nights here. I also met some good people, among them Buffalo, Claudin, Kiemper Von Shnickenlopf and his girlfriend El. I´m convinced that Buffalo´s real name is Lyle Stone, RPCV/DR and water systems expert. He is gigantic, hairy, and very soft spoken. It is Lyle! Anyway, I spent one day by myself hiking around the high plateau, called the ¨paramo¨, and hanging out in little mountain villages. After nine blurry days in New York City, this was exactly what I needed.
Early Saturday morning, my new best friends and I set out for Quilitoa. We took a bus to the lake and planned on hiking back. Of course, we got lost in the fog, and El started crying. When I asked a little boy how long it would take for us to get to the closest town, the little bastard said, ¨seis horas.¨El, who didn´t speak Spanish asked for a translation. I didn´t know what to tell her, butI think my hesitation gave me away, and she started to cry even harder. Everyone knew except her that there was only a small chance that we would die there in the fog, and that the little bastard had no idea what he was talking about. Needless to say, we arrived back at the
Marcos & Kiemper Von...Marcos & Kiemper Von...Marcos & Kiemper Von...

Chillin at Laguna Quilatoa
Black Sheep just before dark, hungry and tired. It only took us five hours and thirty five minutes! I knew that kid was lying.



Advertisement



21st November 2005

Yes but how are the ladies? Been to any good bars? Do they have Jager down there? Did ya see the game last night? I miss ya kid. keep up the postings. Your photos are amazing. Stay safe and have fun. Wish I was there with ya.
21st November 2005

Hey Mike. I just wanted to see my name on a blog. Be safe buddy.
21st November 2005

Mike is a dingleberry.
Keep up the blogging dude! Lori and I are excited for the next installment of disparate. One thing homes, could you add more pics?
7th February 2006

Igualiiiiiito...
Great blog, man. Can't wait to see your next installment from... Manhatten?! Don't pay attention to Brad. He's just jealous. "Save Johnny"

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb