Pichincha, Gold Mine, Birthday Party, and Rambo


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
April 25th 2008
Published: April 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I finally got to see the peak of the volcano I live next to! See the pics!

We went to a gold mine for a class trip last week. This was definitely NOT a tourist gold mine. It was sketchy, but we had fun. I felt sorry for India because she had to walk in back of me in the tunnel - and I had beans for breakfast.

My friend Oscar turned 40 last week so his wife organized a surprise party for him. Birthday parties here are a little different than in the states. After the usual cake and singing, there are hours of singing while sitting in a big circle ( I did my rendition of Hey Jude ). Then there is dancing and dancing. I think my favorite part was when I walk into the kitchen and saw the piles of American food - real meat! Not the chewy, nasty, uncuttable slabs of… I don't know. I miss a good piece of meat.

😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

View from my roofView from my roof
View from my roof

see the plane?
First time!!!First time!!!
First time!!!

I have lived here 4 months and have never seen the peak of the volcano I live next to due to the clouds.
Gold Mine in PactoGold Mine in Pacto
Gold Mine in Pacto

Showing how they pound the quartz veins and then pan the grains with water.
Jonah and the pigJonah and the pig
Jonah and the pig

My friends said I needed to meet some women.
Jonah and the pigJonah and the pig
Jonah and the pig

The pig denied me.
India and a Banana FruitIndia and a Banana Fruit
India and a Banana Fruit

India was demonstrating the proper way to seed the plants.
Oscar's Birthday PartyOscar's Birthday Party
Oscar's Birthday Party

We had a surprise 4oth party for Oscar.
Oscar and LoriOscar and Lori
Oscar and Lori

They were married in September.
RamboRambo
Rambo

There are always buckets of crabs in my kitchen. Weird.


Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0569s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb