Hot Nights in Quito


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
November 9th 2007
Published: November 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The other night I went back to the hostal where I had stayed before I moved into the apartment, just to say hello to the guys there. There was a party ongoing the very moment, and they offered me a drink and I was part of the party. We played some games which I didn´t really understand and apparently most of the others neither, but it didn´t matter, we had a lot of fun. As after 23:00 it's quiet time at the hostal, we went out to a club. We all danced happily with each other, then José, one of the guys at the hostal, danced with me for a while. He is quite cute and I liked him since the time I had stayed at the hostal. After some dancing he took me by the hand and led me through the club and all the dancers. Then he said 'let's go afuera (outside)'. I didn't mind some fresh air, after all the dancing. We didn't just just stand outside, though. He kept holding my hand and led me up the street. It soon became clear what he wanted from me...i.e. take me home and more....I said, 'come on, we hardly know each other, let's go back and dance'. He really did not want to and insisted I come with him and said that he really liked me. The people stuck in traffic jam in the street were already laughing at us. Finally José gave in, and went back with me to the club. Inside, he immediately stopped even looking at me and danced very closely with a young Ecuadorian beauty. Ok, one more lesson learned about Latino machistas (Machos). By the way, José is at least 10 years younger than me. In the hostal I had gotten to know him as a serious and responsible man.

As the whole thing hurt me somewhat, I stood around for a while in a quiet corner and just watched everybody dancing. Then an Ecuadorian man, closer to my age, came up to me and asked me to dance. He was a good dancer (as more or less all latinos) and we danced close, very close, i.e. closer than I have ever danced with anybody before. But that's just the way you dance here. And it's just wonderful, as this way you are entirely guided by the man and only need to float with him.

We danced for a long time until one of the British guys from the hostal said the group was going to another place and went with me through the dancing crowd towards the exit. Then suddenly an indigena with long, black hair (oh well, already as a child I had a soft spot for Winnetou....sorry, only Germans will understand that comment) grabbed my hand and turned me towards him and started dancing with me. My eyes said 'sorry' to the British guy and I continued dancing with the indigena. He moved around the dance floor even more heavenly. After a long time he asked me to go afuera with him. The word did ring some bell....However, since I was really exhausted from all the dancing and felt very hot, I agreed. When walking out, we came by José. I saw a sad look in his eyes and he touched me briefly. Outside I talked for a little while to the indigena. He told me that he was from the selva (Amazonian jungle) and that his grandfather was a shaman. He also said that his father had taught him shaman massage techniques, and whether I would like to try them out. I said, maybe another day and took a taxi home.

Advertisement



14th November 2007

Hi Sonja,
Hi, Sonja, it was nice to read what you wrote, like a novel. I hope, you can learn the dance well, and we can have fun when you are in Munich again.

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0256s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1022.4kb