Are we really doing this?


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
January 7th 2023
Published: January 7th 2023
Edit Blog Post

This is a trip my traveling buddies and I have talked about for years. I always thought it was too expensive, and I wasn't sure that I'd like being on a boat for days. Covid changed that. When we booked this trip through Overseas Adventure Travel 2 years ago, it was Covid times and prices were way down. That helped and the 'why wait' feeling has been coming on a lot these days. Covid taught us that you never know what's going to happen next so use each day to its fullest and take advantage of each opportunity when it comes along. So, here I am leaving on the Ultimate Galapagos & Ecuador's Amazon Wilds trip tomorrow. Terry, Cheryl, and Naomi are my travel buddies this time. We'll be missing you, Roberta, Sandy, Ruth, Carol, and Wendy! Next trip we're not leaving without you.

Preparing has consumed me these last few days...water shoes to get on and off the canoe, dinghy, zodiac, etc. (little nervous that I'm strong enough to even do that!) , light weight but long sleeve shirts and pants to keep the mosquitos off my body, and meds for every unlikely eventuality. Binoculars? camera? waterproof ziploc bag for my cell phone? Motion sickness patches, bands and gum? You name it and I have it ready to pack.

Then there's the anxiety about leaving home for 17 days. This is my first international trip in 3 years so a little separation anxiety seems normal. Add my almost 93 year old mom and 6 beautiful grandchildren and you can see where the need for being able to keep in close contact got a little obsessive in me these past few days. OAT came through with 3 different emergency contact numbers to share with family for the times when internet and cell phone service isn't an option so that helped. T-mobile assures me I'll get service everywhere but around the Galapagos so I'm letting go of most of that anxiety and getting excited for the adventures ahead!

I'm hoping to write a post every couple of days with pictures but who knows if that will happen? If you follow my posts, I'd love to hear your comments and know you're reading.

Advertisement



7th January 2023

Nisiya Tova!
Have a great trips! Can't wait to see those pics.
9th January 2023

Happily reading along
Thanks for taking the time to write. Can't wait to hear all about it!
10th January 2023

Awesome
Love reading your posts. It's like a good travel book and I look forward to ea h chapter

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0512s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 4; ; mem: 1.1mb