Quito On My Own


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito » Historical Center
June 11th 2013
Published: June 11th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Starting my trip off in Quito a few days before I meet up with my group... Days 1 & 2 were great!! I didn't get to the hotel and in bed until 3am Sunday night... I will readily admit there were some moments of "concern" while taking a taxi at 1:30 am, but I made it safe and sound.

I decided to try the new "Hop On- Op Off" touristic bus and was pleased with the day. Sitting up high certainly gets you some good views. On a bad note- at the end of my day I accidentally erased all of my pics so I'll have to back track a little later. Ugh!

I spent most of my first day enjoying the "Centro Histórico" which is a UNESCO World Heritage sight. My hotel is right down from the Plaza Grande and all of the action so that made it easy. I tried two restaurants for lunch and dinner and was very pleased with the food. I'm really hoping that small bit of salad I ate will not be a problem later!

Altitude sickness is wearing off quick! I've had a tiny headache here and there but nothing major.

Today (day 2) I hired a private guide. I have to admit all the names of the places I visited are similar and difficult... But in summary I visited a place where they make "mazapan figurines" from bread dough, the "true" Middle of the Earth, a waterfall (gorgeous hiking), a leather market, and a gorgeous volcano crater filled with water (with more gorgeous hiking). Ecuador is beautiful!

12 pics attached


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



12th June 2013
image

Beautiful!
I love the fact that you send pix of your trips! Thank you! It's beautiful, especially the countryside. Can't wait to see more! Have fun!!!
12th June 2013

WOW
Well I see you made it. The pictures are wonderful and I bet the taxi ride at 1:30 AM was interesting! Thanks for sharing and as always TAKE CARE OF YOURSELF.
12th June 2013

Awesome!
So far so good! Can't wait to see more!! Have fun!!
12th June 2013

Blog #1
Glad to hear you made it through the first few days. Great pictures and next: the Amazon. That should really be interesting. Take care. Mom
12th June 2013

Amazing
Love to see your photos and hear about your adventures. Stay safe and keep posting!
12th June 2013

Keep them coming!
Jen - we love seeing the pics as well as your narration. Having been to Quito, which we much enjoyed, it's nice to see someone else's perspective. Take it easy on those nighttime excursions!
14th June 2013

Beautiful pictures. I love your spirit and stories. Very cool picture of being in both hemispheres! Can\'t wait to read more!

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0501s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb