Istanbul in 3's


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Istanbul
June 12th 2012
Published: June 14th 2012
Edit Blog Post

111

Street in Istanbul
This is what I've found so far:


3 places so good I would return: Aya Sofia- outstanding /famous mosque, Istiklal Street -a mix of beautiful European style street & Turkish ladies wearing burkas- the black covering & the Basilica Cistern - an underground aquaduct

3 embarrassing moments: 1) Walking around like a tourist with my camera and stepped into a huge, wet mud pile and my flip flop got stuck-making me fall into it with my other foot... an ending with mud sloshed all over my feet, toenails, and legs- not so popular for a society that really emphasizes clean feet!! Everyone was staring! 2) I tripped over a poor man begging in the street 3) My huge backpack got stuck in the metro tram door and it kept buzzing and trying to shut the door long before I realized I was the problem! Oops! 😊)

3 things I like about my group: 1) A good range of ages, 2) lots of world travelers who put me my traveling to shame! 3) great humor

3 accomplishments: Found everything I needed on my own without a guide, figured out the Metro and used it to get around,
Bosphorus VıewBosphorus VıewBosphorus Vıew

View of Bosphorus
3) rode the ferry

3 interesting observations: 1) there are LOTS of stray cats meandering around- all friendly! (not too many dogs!) 2) English is a second language- but you don't hear it much! There are tons of tourists from all over speaking different languages. Turks are very friendly people and willing to help. 3) Turkish people love to sit in the grass- they lay around all over the place!

3 things I could do without: There's no such thing as "Ladies first!" - men have had no problem plowing through me to get where they wanted to get first, 2) Turks wash thoroughly before entering a mosque (they actually have water stations to wash their hands, feet, face, arms, etc. before entering). In the meantime, they also want us to take shoes off to go into places such as mosques, homes, etc. (which I completely understand and appreciate) but all the tourists feet are STINKY! 3)XXX Can't think of another!

3 things I appreciate: 1)Turks are very friendly and hospitable to tourists 2) Transportation and roadways are easy and excellent 3) Turks love dessert!


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Basilica Cistern1Basilica Cistern1
Basilica Cistern1

Basilica Cistern - built to provide water for the city of Istanbul during the reign of Emperor Justinian I in the 6th century CE
Basilica Cistern2Basilica Cistern2
Basilica Cistern2

This was an underground water chamber
Egyptian Spice MarketEgyptian Spice Market
Egyptian Spice Market

I really enjoyed the Egyptian Spice Market - lots of free samples of Turkish Delight!
Galata TowerGalata Tower
Galata Tower

This gave great views of the city
Galata Tower ViewGalata Tower View
Galata Tower View

Here's one of those fabulous views
City ViewCity View
City View

I was just walking around Istanbul and look what I found! Beautiful!
Street Vendor 1Street Vendor 1
Street Vendor 1

Lots of great smells from vendors everywhere
Street Vendor 2Street Vendor 2
Street Vendor 2

Unfortunately blurry - but this guy is pouring my juice!
Inside the Aya SofiaInside the Aya Sofia
Inside the Aya Sofia

I couldn't get a picture to do this place justice - when you walk in this mosque, all you can say is, "Wow"
Aya Sofıa1Aya Sofıa1
Aya Sofıa1

Details of the Aya Sofia
Aya Sofıa2Aya Sofıa2
Aya Sofıa2

Details of the Aya Sofia
WashWash
Wash

Here's where people wash feet, hands, arms, faces, etc. before going into a mosque to pray. Separate sides for men and women
MosqueMosque
Mosque

Another of many Mosques
RestingResting
Resting

I was so tired... I decided to take a rest Turk Style


14th June 2012

WOW
keep the pictures coming! What beautiful scenery--have fun.
14th June 2012

Brings back memories of Spain and Turkey!
Quelle surprise Jennifer! I'm in France just finishing a 2week immersion experience that has done wonders for my French, and loved your blog. Norm and I were in Turkey in October. It rained 5 of 6 days in Instanbul so your sunny pics. What a great place! Loved hearing from you. All the best, Carol
14th June 2012

Turkish Times
We had a one-day stop in Turkey and left with smiles, a happy experience. Now, you make us want to go back soon! You are a terrific writer, Jennifer.
14th June 2012

Love your blog
Enjoyed seeing the pics and now waiting for your description of the hot air balloon. Still no skype here. I've been working on buying a new tv and spending lots of time researching. Perhaps I install skype later today or tomorrow.

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb