Day 9: Quito weather means…


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito » Historical Center
April 10th 2012
Published: April 12th 2012
Edit Blog Post


• Wearing a sweatshirt in your apartment.



Because we don’t have heating or A/C it’s not uncommon on a cloudy day or after a rain to have your apartment be 62-65 degrees.


• Getting caught in a rainstorm.



The weather, not unlike Florida, can change in an instant here. When the clouds cover the sun the temperature can drop 10 degrees and then 5 minutes later you’re sweating through your tank top when the sun reappears. Quito is also in their rainy(est) season right now so when it rains, it can last from an hour to all day.


• Washing your hair in the sink.



Because there is not enough warm water in the hot water tank for a decent shower (the Countess/aka First Lady of Quito and I are going to have a talk about this). And you try drying off in 65 degrees!

Here’s the funny thing I’ve noticed about Quitoreans. They were the same amount of clothing whether it is 55 or 75 degrees. Most mornings are around 55 when I hit the park for Kenny’s morning walk so I sport jeans and a fleese (normal Quito wear), but on a sunny day I bust out the tank top and soak up the rays! This display of flesh draws a lot of looks. I’m not sure if they’re shocked that I’m “exposing” myself or that I’m crazy enough to walk around without a jacket.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb