Galapagos!


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » Galápagos
February 19th 2010
Published: February 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

In the Galapagos -wow! This place must be the most incredible/beautiful place I have ever/will ever see.

It started off pretty well for Merlyn and I on the way out as they bumped us up to first class on the plane despite us both looking like trampy gringas who hadn´t washed in a while (sorry Merlyn). We didn´t get the same privilege on the way back however.

We landed, caught a bus to a dinghy which took us to our boat: Anahi (Journey 1). And what a boat it is! Beautiful living and dining areas; great clean rooms; bar; tasty food; great crew; and it came with a great guide too - Kike.

After our welcome, we were told to put on our geek shoes - we were off to explore. We dry ñanded on Isla Plaza and were greeted by some noisey sea lions waiting for an afternoon feed. They genuinely don´t care about the humans at all and I´m convinced that they´re all posers who love nothing more than having their photo taken.

We wandered onto the uninhabited (by humans) island and Kike stumbled across a beautiful male iguana just chilling out undera big cactus. I´ve never seen such cool colours on a animal - a pink neck, yellow spikes, yellow face and a black body.

I kind of felt like I was in ´lost´for most of the time on the Islands but especially on Isla Plaza and on Floreana. There was nothing but animals, plants, sea, sand and hills for as far as you could see.

We soon found some marine-land hybrid iguanas (think Galapagos may be the only place on earth where they exist), some bright red huge crabs and a whole erray of beautiful birds.

Got back to the boat for welcome cocktails, ate a great dinner and was so exhausted that I fell asleep at 9.30pm.

I can safely say that I have been blown away by my first day and I´m desperately looking forward to the next.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0226s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb