Heaven on earth


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » Galápagos
June 6th 2007
Published: June 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Artesan Park Artesan Park Artesan Park

This is the "market" in Puerta Ayora the major town in Santa Cruz.
I´ve finally made it to the Galapagos, I dream that I have fulfilled. It is such a great feeling. Unfortunately, that great feeling was hampered this morning from last night´s festivities (at least only until I got off the plane and smelt the salt air and the warmth of the equatorial sun):

So where does one begin? Well it may seem like I party a lot, which I do do quite a bit, but you must understand something about Ecuador and South America. No one, I repeat NO ONE goes out until at least 11pm, and even then the bars only have a few people. Usually, keener gringos like myself and the people I go out with. So if you start at 11, that means clubs officially end at 3am but really they keep going a bit later. Plus, the added bonus of after hours bars. I have been it was fun, we went last night after did some bar hopping. We did an Irish Bar, played some pool got my butt kicked. Then proceeded to kick the guys butts at fusebol. It must have been the bloody mary...or maybe not, it´s hard to focus when you´ve consumed a
Dead FishDead FishDead Fish

Fish at the market, where the pelicans flock.
bit. Well after that we did some mystery shots, only because they were cheap and the people I was out with we were saying goodbye to one another and half celebrating a coming birthday.

After the Irish pub we went to Bunglow 6 seems we always go there. Well it was ok, not packed at all, could totally see the dance floor. BUT, I requested some music and they totally played my request. I bet you can guess what I requested! Yup you´re probably right- ¨"Call on Me" ohhhhhhh wass I HAPPY!
Then "Satisfaction" Benni Banassi. Awesome 😊

So we danced and drank, the Saturday night was really good thouhg, packed with people bumping into one another. I did some half salsa and got whipped around and spun that was fun. I think I may try to integrate this new dance technique in Van. It may not take as well though..... hmmm

So after what seemed like hours, we left and went to the "after hours" well that was terrible the music was worse than the worst 80´s movie from that era. So we left...I wasn´t ready to call it quits though, I was relentless. Thus 5
Pelicans eatingPelicans eatingPelicans eating

Here are the hoards of pelicans at the "fish market"
of us went back to the flat of the staff at the hostel. We watched Borat. Wow. What a movie. I did fall asleep part way through, and was jolted awake around 530 to stagger to the hostel. I got an hour and a half worth of sleep and then showered and got ready to leave for the airport.

Well I left my new jacket at the flat, luckily one of the guys was nice enough to take me back there. I should have woke everyone up, just for the hell of it. I didn´t thought. It is really a nice jacket.

Anyways 66 dollars later we leave (this is for 3 days and food, liqour gets you every time).

IN the car everything was fine, even in the airport. But I ate a too cheesy sandwich and orange juice, I think that was a bad idea. Just as we were called to board the plane I thought I was going to 1) pass out 2) possibly vomit. Luckily I went into rice paddy position and felt a bit better. After that I bent over and just practiced breathing, it helped. But I still had to board
Sunset Sunset Sunset

My first sunset in Puerta Ayora
the plane. Wow not cool. I actually clutched the barf bag the entire trip. Luckily 4 ibproufins later some water and a bit of sleep I felt a bit better. Enough to eat some random airplane food and drink more water.

I will just say that I was able to pull it together and nothing bad happened except maybe a bit of drooling while sleeping, but it wasn´s my fault I didn´t have a head rest. hahahaha:P All is well now. I am in the Galapagos and loving it. I took some pictures so enjoy.

Oh yes, yesterday I also went to the Mitad de Mundo the middle of the earth, and took a gondala overlooking Quito. Amazing, I couldn´t believe how big the city was, and you were higher than some valleys. So the clouds rolled in and blanketed some areas, it was stellar.

Ok, I must jet, food time 😊

Much love 😉


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Smart birdSmart bird
Smart bird

This birdy was all by himself gorging, while the others fought over scraps and guts.
Turquoise at its bestTurquoise at its best
Turquoise at its best

I think I may have a new favourite colour.
Unique house!Unique house!
Unique house!

This is the front of a jewerly store, but I was in awe of the design. I want my house to look like this.
Scarlet CrabScarlet Crab
Scarlet Crab

These little guys can jump too!
Random alley wayRandom alley way
Random alley way

A random alleyway that lead to the ocean.


7th June 2007

Drinking, sminking
Where's how beautiful it is, and PHOTOS....you're gonna hate me by the time you get home. Where is the camera meagan?
10th June 2007

hey sistaa
how are you doing? i miss you. hope to talk to you soon. your birthday is coming :)

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0538s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb