First experiences (new blog)


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » Centre » Ilinizas
July 7th 2010
Published: December 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My first experiences



You may have noticed, at times, I´m a little obsessive over colorful clothing, a hidden meaning to life and I sometimes use the word energy to explain things (smiley face). Some even go as far as calling me a hippie. Well, as if in proof, while I´m lying here writing this into my notebook, I have some apple cellotaped to my finger. Why? I was told in confidence by a man who´d plainly done a lot of acid in his younger years, and who has a meditation shed in his back garden, that its a great cure for warts. I´m moving onwards and downwards from this height of 2800 meters to Peru soon and its no place for a wart. I doubt I´ll finish this monologue today so maybe towards the end you´ll have proof of how versatile an apple may be.

Anyway, I´ve gone off track, this may happen quite a bit, but don´t worry, most of the time I'll remember what I'm talking about… Apple… finger… ahh hippie, thats it.

So we come, in land far far away, to my first love of the trip ´Nic & Tera.´ The first time I knew getting on with Tera would be fun and easy, was waking up bleary eyed on my 2nd morning in a strange new world, on a Monday. Ascending the outside stairs to the main house I find Tera, crosslegged, seated on a yoga mat, seemingly drawing energy into to her, by alternately raising a hand into the air clutching at the energy thereupon and bringing it down into her heart. Yes I thought, I´m defiantly in the right place.

As the sun sets, obscuring the lines and spider like writing. Light releases its hold on the landscape, clouds are making their own speciously treacherous journey onwards and upwards over a jagged outcrop of rocks to join their brothers in the sky. Its hard to picture it as the sky works differently sitting here atop this mountain. Every time you look at the sunset between the hills (drawn as if without hesitation by a passionate Charles Rowlands) it changes. The shade of blissful red the colour of chalk transends to yellow to white to blue ever bluer and then almost black.

As night hits lights from neighbouring towns turn the darkness orange, I didn't expect to see that here. Echoes of the rugged dogs, lunatic cows and self suffocating donkeys stroke the ear drums from this vantage point. Broken no doubt and soon, as when night hits there is always music and shouts of a party to be heard. This is a place of green, sometimes snowy white, farms and alcohol. At least its alcohol for the men, women are either at home cooking, making clothes, selling the alcohol or nursing a drunken husband who's lying on the floor outside thier house.

At the school there is a forest of about 50 trees, Robert rented the land for $500 for 5 years ($6000 to buy outright) to stop them being turned into firewood, bed frames and kitchen stools. Also if he hadn't I wouldn't of been able to nap on the forest floor out of sight and under cover of the blaring sun. A path leads across plots of various land, marked out by giant cacti that erect a 15 metre tree from no where before they die at around five years. Its crazy its around 10 meters in just 3 days. So along this path about 40 meters comes our plot of cut down pine trees, its where i'm sitting as I write this, and it brings stark memories of Nic talking about Bill Hicks and our feelings.. Salut Nic, Cervaces en Colorado pronto!

By the way, i'm writing this much much later out of my book and i Can gladly say the wart has no gone, the apple wasn't working too well untill I clipped off the dry skinn atop the wart. Wart freee yayyy!!!!!



PS
Comment!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0848s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb