Mystical Mountain


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » Centre » Cotopaxi
December 4th 2008
Published: December 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

CotopaxiCotopaxiCotopaxi

Cotopaxi is an active volcano. There have been 50 eruptions of Cotopaxi since 1738. In 1877, was the last of the violent eruptions, with lava flowing more than 100 km into the Pacific Ocean, and western Amazon basin.
My last day in Ecuador, I decided to take a day excursion to Cotopaxi. It was close enough to Quito, and I was rather curious about this volcano. I was really excited about getting up close and personal with a volcano, even though there were no lava streams flowing down the sides. On a clear day in Quito, you can see Cotopaxi. It reaches a height of 19,347 feet, and is the second highest summit in Edcuador. Little did I know that Ecuador has plenty of volcanoes (some active, others dormant).

On our way, we stopped to take photos, before the clouds would move in. The snow and ice made this mountain majestic.

We also got to see Illiniza which is a twin volcano, and is inactive.

Our first stop was at Saquisili Market. It is considered the most important market in Ecuador by the country's economists and located next to Latacunga, Saquisilí market located in 8 main plazas sells everything from food produce including, oranges, mandarin oranges, potatoes, tomatoes, onions, radishes, avocados, herbs, radishes, okra, red and yellow bananas it also sells meet produce such as pork, beef and mutton parts as well as screaming wild pigs
IlinizasIlinizasIlinizas

These are twin volcanoes (Illiniza Sur & Illiniza Norte). The height of Illiniza Sur is 17,218 ft, and Illiniza Norte is 16,818 ft.
that run around aimlessly in pens along with llamas, sheep and cattle. It seemed that since it was Thursday, it was more of a "working" market, an incredible amount of livestock for sale or for trade. Even a speckled pig - I've never seen a speckled pig in my life! I really enjoyed watching the people in action.

The drive up the side of Cotopaxi at times would be rough and bumpy. I could feel the change in temperature and was really glad to wear a good jacket.

We finally arrived at our parking space at Cotopaxi, and prepared for the steep climb up to Jose Rivas Mountain refuge. There, we'd be able to have a cup of hot chocolate. The day before, I was at sea level on Santa Cruz Island (Galapagos), so I wasn't use to the altitude. Too, I still felt like I was on the boat, so I didn't quite make it to the refuge. I was grateful for the couple of hundred feet that I climbed.

It was stunning to watch the climbers make their way to the top of the mountain. I have seen movies, where climbers would work their way up a mountain. The movies paled in comparison with actually being there. To see the climbers, move step by step, pacing themselves, and stopping to take a much needed breath. I could hear their deep breaths and the ground crunching beneath their feet. Most incredible, was to look into their eyes and see their determination to reach the top! I can only imagine the glory. Those who would go all the way to the top carried backpacks and camping gear. Most of the climbers were men, and the ages varied. I truly was in awe to see a couple of climbers that were in their late 60's or early 70's, those men were really determined. For them, it was hell or high water, they were going to make it! For me, it was kind of emotional - the beauty of a human being's determination, yet the stillness and quiet of the mountain. It was man against nature. I also felt an inner voice telling me "peace, be still", I don't know if it was the whisper of the mountain, or if it was because I was freezing my butt off!

Our last stop would be a brief hike around
Saquisill MarketSaquisill MarketSaquisill Market

Handicrafts
Limpiopungo Lake. We saw some wild horses, rabbits, and birds.







Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Ass For SaleAss For Sale
Ass For Sale

This little guy was for sale or trade at Saquisill Market.
Upward climbUpward climb
Upward climb

It truly is an upward climb to the Jose Ribas Refuge. This refuge is where climbers begin their trek to the top. The refuge is at 15,748 feet.


Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 81; dbt: 0.0706s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb