27th June, Villa de Leyva


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Villa de Leyva
June 27th 2009
Published: June 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

27th June, Villa de Leyva

In our neverending efforts to save money, we chose to buy breakfast from the supermarket. Colombia was alot more expensive than we thought, the cost of a hostel was basically half of our daily budget.
We ended up with tasteless croissants and a yogurt each. We also stocked up on some high energy food as we going to go on a hike from the town of Villa de Leyva to a waterfall. We were going to go by ourselves to Cascada Periquera.

We set off on a long and winding road which was mostly uphill, we thought it was only going to be about 3km but we were very wrong! After coming to the 1st road sign, we realised it was actually going to be 15km!! But we thought we'd see how far we could get. A few times I went flying into the side of the road when a huge lorry stormed past just inches from me! It was boiling hot and my little legs were tired, but the views going up were amazing. It was all mountains and countryside and for most of the hike few cars passed us. After over 3 hours we finally arrived at the entrance of Cascada Periquera. It was only 2,000pesos (about 60p) to get in. A guy showed us the route we would have to take down to the waterfall, it was all rock. It wasnt long until we reached the 1st waterfall, it was beautiful. It was almost a better experience that Iguazu Falls, because there were hardly any tourists, the weather was amazing, and there were lots of picnicc spots. Also it was challenging because there is no guide, you are able to explore by yourself, and alot of the routes are very steep going down and only rocks to climb back up again. I didnt feel very like Lara Croft as I clutched onto every branch and rock for dear life! Jake kept running ahead of me laughing and taking pictures! At the bottom of the first waterfall was a quiet spot where you could sit and relax directly facing it for a great view.

Jake had an idea (brave and also stupid) to walk across the waterfall so I could take a picture of him sat in the middle at the top of the waterfall. I didnt think it was the safest idea but before I could say anymore, he had taken off his shoes and socks and was making his way across! Some people sat near me looked on with fright, wondering what he was doing! I nearly had a heart attck when Jake slipped whilst making his way across, but he managed to clutch onto a rock and steady himself into the middle so I could take some pictures.

After this, we explored the surroundings and did some rock climbing! It was fun, we passed some half naked hippies and also some butch lesbians who gave me dirty looks, probably for walking in on their quiet spot! We found a great spot back at the top overlooking the waterfall, where there was now people on a tour absailing down the waterfall. It was great to watch but I wasnt tempted! It didnt turn out t be such a good spot to sit and have lunch, as literally every man and his dog walked past after ten minutes. We were actually sat in one of the paths with a great viewing spot. So everyone could have a nosey at me sat with my sweaty hair, bright red burnt nose, sunburnt forehead, and covered in huge insect bites! Lucky them!

We stayed until the sun started to go down. Even though we were exhausted we decided to hike the whole way back. But as soon as I saw a passing van taking people back into the town, I put my hand out and we jumped in! It was only 6,000 pesos (£1.80) for us together. I thought we were in for an hour or so drive, as it had taken us 3 hours to hike, but after 20minutes the van pulled up in the main plaza of Villa de Leyva! Gutted!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0529s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb