26th June, Villa de Leyva


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Villa de Leyva
June 26th 2009
Published: June 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

26th June, Villa de Leyva

I was woken up by what I thought was a storm! I thought I heard people saying there was a storrm coming and there was loads of banging, so I thought they were boarding up the windows. Terrified I woke Jake who just laughed at my crazy imagination. When I walked out of the room, I realised the 'storm' I thought I heard, and the 'boarding up of windows' was the builders working in the next few rooms. I hadnt realised the hostel was under construction! And there were hardly any clouds in the sky!!

We went to a cute small cafe for breakfast. The portions here are designed for midgets i think (the average colombian is probably only about 5 foot!) so Jake had to order two breakfasts! I was surprised wondering around the town, at the number of police. They are all just young lads, about 18 or 19 and very skinny! They are also the town's policia turismo (tourist police). They are really friendly compared to police in other cities we'd visited.

We went for a stroll along one of the many countrylanes. All the surrounding greenery was fenced off though, so we couldnt find anywhere to sit and relax. So we just sat on the side of the road on a tiny stretch of grass. Passing trucks looked at us with sympathy! We werent even sat down for long, but I got sunburnt badly! Sore and with a bright red nose, we walked back to the hostel to chill out for a few hours.. before heading out that evening.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0565s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb